"Animal Magnetism" is the seventh studio album by the German heavy metal band Scorpions, released in 1980.

  The album cover was created by Storm Thorgerson of the design firm Hipgnosis and, as with earlier Scorpions album sleeves, courted controversy. However unlike several of their previous album sleeves the controversy did not result in the cover being replaced with an alternate sleeve. Recalling the cover photo with the guy drinking the beer and the girl with the dog, Storm remarked "That one was funny. I don't think we figured it out. We just knew there was something rude somewhere." Scorpions bassist at the time, Francis Buchholz, recalls that, "Herman came up with the title for the album Animal Magnetism and we all liked it because it's an interesting title. So we had this guy Storm who was doing album covers for Pink Floyd, I think he did the one with the guy with the flames. So Storm came up with idea for the Animal Magnetism cover, I personally didn't like it, but the rest of the band loved it. I liked the dog though."


High Resolution Photos of scorpions animal magnetism eu

Music Genre:

German Hard Rock, Heavy Metal 

Album Production information:


The album: "SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL) " was produced by: Dieter Dierks for Breeze Music

  Dieter Dierks from Stommeln, Germany is a musician, sound engineer, producer, music publisher and studio owner. During the 1970s responsible for the recordings of many so called "Krautrock" bands like: "Ihre Kinder", "Ash Ra Tempel", "Tangerine Dream", "Witthüser & Westrupp", Hoelderlin, Wallenstein, "Birth Control", "Guru Guru", Embryo, "Popol Vuh", Bröselmaschine, "Amon Düül" and "Floh de Cologne". As of the late 1970s he has been responsible for the recordings of the "Scorpions", "Accept", "Twisted Sister" and many many other bands. Dieter Dierks was also founder of "Dierks Studios" and "Breeze Music"

This album was recorded at: Dierks Studios, Cologne, Germany and Manta Sound Studios, Toronto, Canada

Howie "Iron" Weinberg - Mastering Engineer

  Howie Weinberg has during his career mastered hundreds of records in all kinds of musical genres. For the Heavy Metal music genre he has mastered for bands like: Anthrax, Celtic Frost, Cro-Mags, Danzig, Manowar, Meliah Rage, Overkill, Ozzy Osbourne, Riot V, Scorpions, Sepultura, Slayer, White Zombie and many many others.

Album cover design: Hipgnosis

Note: Hipgnosis was an English art design group based in London that specialised in creating cover art for the albums of rock musicians and bands. Notable commissions included work for Pink Floyd, T. Rex, the Pretty Things, Black Sabbath, UFO, 10cc, Bad Company, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Scorpions, Yes, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Def Leppard, Paul McCartney & Wings, the Alan Parsons Project, Genesis, Peter Gabriel, Electric Light Orchestra, the Police, Rainbow, Styx, Pezband, XTC and Al Stewart.

Here is a web-page with a gallery of album covers created by Hipgnosis

Album cover photography: Maintide

Label Information:

Breeze Music Harvest 1A 062-45933

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1980 Made in Holland

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL)

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Klaus Meine - Vocals

    Klaus Meine is a German singer and was born 1948, Hannover, Germany. He has been lead singer with the German Hard Rock / Heavy Metal band "Scorpions" since 1969. Meine made a guest-appearance on Michael Schenker's album "Rock Will Never Die".

  • Rudolf Schenker - Guitars

    Rudolf Schenker - Founder and Guitarist with the German Hard Rock / Heavy Metal band "Scorpions" since it's formation in 1964. Rudolf is brother of Michael Schenker and Barbara Schenker. He uses guitar made by the German guitar maker Dommenget.

  • Matthias Jabs - Guitars

      Matthias Jabs is guitarist with "Scorpions" since 1978. Before joined Scorpions he played ( together with Herman Rarebell ) in the Fargo Rock band from Hannover, Germany.

  • Francis Buchholz - bass

    Francis Buchholz - Bass guitar player from Hannover, Germany and was born in 1954. Buchholz started his musical career , together with Ulrich Roth and Hans-Jurgen Rosenthal, during 1972 in a band called "Dawn Road". "Dawn Road" dismantled around 1974 and members joined "Scorpions". Buchholz performed with the Scorpions from 1973 until 1992.

  • Herman Rarebell - Drums

      Herman Rarebell has been drummer with "Scorpions" from 1978 until 1995. Before joining Scorpions he played ( together with Matthias Jabs ) in the Fargo band from Hannover, Germany.

Complete Track-listing of the album "SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL) "

The detailed tracklist of this record "SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL) " is:

  1. Make It Real (Schenker/Rarebell) 3:49
  2. Don't Make No Promises (Your Body Can't Keep) (Jabs/Rarebell) 2:55
  3. Hold Me Tight (Schenker/Meine/Rarebell) 3:53
  4. Twentieth Century Man (Schenker/Meine) 3:00
  5. Lady Starlight (Schenker/Meine) 6:11
  6. Falling in Love (Rarebell) 4:09
  7. Only a Man (Schenker/Meine/Rarebell) 3:32
  8. The Zoo (Schenker/Meine) 5:28
  9. Animal Magnetism (Schenker/Meine/Rarebell) 5:56
High Resolution Photos of scorpions animal magnetism eu  

High Quality Photos of Album Front Cover  "SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL) "

Album Back Cover  Photo of "SCORPIONS Animal Magnetism (NL) "

High Resolution Photos of scorpions animal magnetism eu  

High Resolution Photos of scorpions animal magnetism eu    

Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.

Index of SCORPIONS - Vinyl Discography & Album Cover Gallery