- German release

Nazareth's "Malice in Wonderland" 12" LP, released in Germany in 1980 on Vertigo Records, marks a pivotal moment in the 1980s music scene. Produced by Jeff Baxter and recorded at Compass Point Studios in the Bahamas, the album's global impact is underscored by its international release. Sound engineer Kim King and mixer Bruce Robb contributed to its sonic excellence at Cherokee Studios. A fusion of artistry and production, the album remains a distinctive chapter in musical history.


High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany

"Malice in Wonderland" Album Description:

In the tumultuous landscape of the music industry during the 1980s, where genres collided and artistic expression flourished, Nazareth's "Malice in Wonderland" emerged as a notable 12" LP Vinyl Album, leaving an indelible mark on the musical tapestry of the time. Produced by the renowned Jeff Baxter and recorded under the meticulous guidance of sound engineer Kim King, the album's significance becomes even more pronounced when viewed within the context of the period.

The German release of "Malice in Wonderland" in 1980 on Vertigo Records attests to the global impact of Nazareth's music. The choice of Vertigo Records, known for its eclectic roster and commitment to innovative sounds, provided a fitting platform for the band's exploration of new sonic territories. The European release further emphasizes the international nature of the music scene during this era, where borders blurred, and artists sought recognition beyond their home countries.

One of the album's distinctive features is its recording location at Compass Point Studios in Nassau, Bahamas. The studio's idyllic setting and state-of-the-art facilities contributed to the creation of a sound that resonated with the spirit of the time. The tropical surroundings may have influenced the album's atmosphere, infusing it with a unique energy that set it apart from other releases of its era.

The role of sound engineer Kim King cannot be understated in the production of "Malice in Wonderland." King's expertise and technical finesse played a crucial role in capturing the essence of Nazareth's musical vision. The collaborative synergy between the band and King in the recording process allowed for the realization of a sound that reflected the dynamic and experimental nature of the 1980s music landscape.

The mixing of the album at Cherokee Studios by Bruce Robb further added to its sonic richness. Cherokee Studios, a well-known recording facility in Los Angeles, was a hub for many iconic albums during the era. Robb's skillful mixing at Cherokee Studios added a layer of polish and sophistication to "Malice in Wonderland," elevating it to a level of production excellence that resonated with listeners.

Music Genre:

Scottish Hard Rock  

Album Production Information:

The album: "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland" was produced by: Jeff Baxter

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Kim King

This album was recorded at: Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas.

Compass Point Studios, founded in 1977 by Chris Blackwell, the visionary owner of Island Records, stands as a pivotal and iconic institution in the realm of music production, particularly during the vibrant decades of the 1970s and 1980s. Nestled in the picturesque Bahamas, just outside Nassau, this studio emerged as a tropical oasis that not only offered a breathtaking setting but also fostered a distinctive creative atmosphere that left an indelible mark on the global music scene.

The 1970s and 1980s witnessed a plethora of influential albums recorded at Compass Point Studios, spanning various genres such as rock, reggae, funk, and pop. Artists like Bob Marley, Grace Jones, Iron Maiden Talking Heads, and The Rolling Stones all left their mark on the studio, contributing to its legacy as a hub of musical innovation.

Mixed at Cherokee Studios by Bruce Robb

Record Label Information:

Vertigo 8379 432
Packaging:This album "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by and artwork/photos

Media Format:

12 " LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1980 Made in Germany
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Dan McCafferty - nysse (sic) singer
  • Manny Charlton - guitars
  • Zal Cleminson - guitars, synthesiser
  • Pete Agnew - bass guitar, also nysse (sic) singer
  • Darrell Sweet - drums
Complete Track-listing of the album "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland"

The detailed tracklist of this record "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. Holiday 3:29
  2. Showdown at the Border 4:11
  3. Talkin' to One of the Boys 4:13
  4. Heart's Grown Cold 4:14
  5. Fast Cars 4:35
  6. Big Boy 3:38
  7. Talkin' 'Bout Love 3:57
  8. Fallen Angel 4:44
  9. Ship of Dreams 4:09
  10. Turning a New Leaf 4:00
High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland"

High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany  

High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany  

Photo of "NAZARETH - Malice in Wonderland" Album's Inner Sleeve  

High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany

High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany  

High Resolution Photo of NAZARETH MALICE IN WONDERLAND Germany  

 Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Index of NAZARETH - Vinyl Albums LP Discography & Gallery