This is the German release of "The Dark" which is the second full length album released by Metal Church. It was also the last album in which the line-up of Wayne, Vanderhoof, Arrington, Wells and Erickson performed, until 1999's Masterpeace album. This album talks of dark themes, such as assassination, death, struggle, and rituals (for example, the lyrics from "Line of Death" were most likely based on Libyan hostilities in the Gulf of Sidra). One song from this album, "Watch the Children Pray", turned into the band's first music video. This album is one of their most critically and commercially successful albums to date. The album was dedicated to the late Cliff Burton of Metallica fame.


large album front cover photo of: Metal Church - The Dark

Music Genre:

Heavy Metal / Thrash Metal 
Production information:

The album: "METAL CHURCH - The Dark" was produced by: Mark Dodson

  Mark Dodson is a British record producer and sound engineer, who mostly works with artists in the heavy metal genre. He is best known for producing albums by Anthrax and Suicidal Tendencies, as well as working with dozens of other bands.

Terry Date - Sound Engineer, Producer

  Terry Date is an American Music producer and sound recording engineer, specializing in the rock genres, specially heavy metal. He is well known for his work with Overkill , Metal Church , Slipknot, Pantera, Soulfly, White Zombie, Deftones, Dark Angel , Dream Theater, Slayer , Soundgarden and Limp Bizkit.

Bob Defrin - Art Direction

  Bob Defrin - As director, graphic designer and head of art for Atlantic records, Bob Defrin has been responsible for the album covers of many Heavy Metal bands during the 1980s.

  The list of Hard Rock or Heavy Metal albums he produced between 1980-1990 is here

Don Brautigam - Album artwork

  Don Brautigam , American Painter and graphic artist , he painted over 3000 book and record cover works in a career that spanned 35 years. During the 1980s he painted the albums covers for Heavy Metal bands like: Anthrax , Axe, Metallica , Motley Crue , Vicious Rumors.

Label Information:

Elektra 960 493

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1986 Made in Germany

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: METAL CHURCH - The Dark

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • David Wayne: Vocals
  • Kurdt Vanderhoof: Guitars
  • Kirk Arrington: Drums
  • Craig Wells: Guitars
  • Duke Erickson: Bass

Complete Track-listing of the album "METAL CHURCH - The Dark"

The detailed tracklist of this record "METAL CHURCH - The Dark" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. Ton of Bricks - 3:00
  2. Start the Fire - 3:50
  3. Method To Your Madness - 4:52
  4. Watch The Children Pray - 5:57
  5. Over My Dead Body - 03:36
  6. The Dark - 4:11
  7. Psycho - 3:32
  8. Line Of Death - 4:42
  9. Burial At Sea - 4:58
  10. Western Alliance - 3:18

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "METAL CHURCH - The Dark"

The Dark by Metal Church Album Front Cover 


Photo of Metal Church band-mrembers on the album back cover 


Close-up of the Black and Red Elektra label of "The Dark" Side One 


Close-up of the Black and Red Elektra label of "The Dark" Side Two   



Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.