Aerosmith Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM front cover

Collector Notes:

Permanent Vacation was the first Aerosmith album to be promoted by heavy music video airplay on MTV. Permanent Vacation is often considered their true comeback album,

Music Genre:

American Hard Rock

Collector's info:

This album includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by Aerosmith and photos. 
Album Production information: Produced by Bruce Fairbairn,
Sound and recording engineers: Mike Fraser, Bob Rock

Bob Rock is a renowned music producer and sound engineer hailing from Winnipeg, Canada. Born on 19 April 1954, Rock's passion for music began at a young age, and he developed a strong interest in rock and heavy metal genres. Over the years, he has made an indelible mark on the music industry, working with numerous iconic bands and shaping the sound of some of the most influential albums in rock history.

Rock's career took off in the 1980s when he started collaborating with various artists and bands. His reputation as a skilled producer and engineer quickly grew, and he became known for his ability to capture the raw energy and power of heavy metal music. One of his earliest notable collaborations was with the Swiss hard rock band Krokus, for whom he produced their successful album "Headhunter" in 1983.

However, it was his work with the legendary band Metallica that truly catapulted Rock to international fame. In the early 1990s, Rock collaborated with Metallica as the producer on their self-titled fifth studio album, commonly known as "The Black Album". Released in 1991, the album was a massive success, selling millions of copies worldwide and propelling Metallica to new heights of mainstream popularity. Rock's production on the album was praised for its polished yet heavy sound, and it remains one of the best-selling rock albums of all time.


Following the success of "The Black Album", Rock continued to work with Metallica on their subsequent albums, including "Load" (1996) and "Reload" (1997). His collaboration with the band played a significant role in shaping their evolving sound and experimenting with new musical directions. Rock's ability to adapt to different artistic visions while maintaining a high level of production quality became one of his trademarks.

In addition to his work with Metallica, Rock has produced and engineered albums for several other major heavy metal bands. He worked with Mötley Crüe on their highly successful album "Dr. Feelgood" (1989), which showcased his knack for capturing the band's sleazy and aggressive sound. Rock also collaborated with Aerosmith on their comeback album "Permanent Vacation" (1987), which marked a resurgence in the band's popularity and featured several hit singles.

Throughout his career, Bob Rock has been recognized with numerous awards and accolades for his contributions to the music industry. He has received Grammy Awards for his work with Metallica and has been inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Rock's talent and expertise as a producer and engineer have made him one of the most sought-after figures in the industry, and he continues to work with a diverse range of artists and bands, leaving his mark on the music world with every project he takes on.

Bob Rock's passion for music, his innate understanding of rock and heavy metal, and his unwavering commitment to delivering top-notch production quality have cemented his status as one of the most influential music producers and sound engineers of his time. His contributions to the genre have left an indelible impact and have shaped the sound of countless iconic albums, making him a true legend in the world of rock music.

Record Label Information:

Geffen 924 162, WX 126

Media Format:

12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 200 gram  

Year & Country:

1987 Made in Germany
Band Members and Musicians on: Aerosmith Permanent Vacation
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Tom Hamilton electric bass
  • Joey Kramer drums
  • Joe Perry guitar, background vocals
  • Steven Tyler vocals,harmonica, piano, vocals, plunger mute
  • Brad Whitford guitar
  • Drew Arnott mellotron
  • Henry Christian trumpet
  • Bruce Fairbairn trumpet, cello, background vocals
  • Scott Fairbairn cello
  • Michael Fraser plunger mute
  • Tom Kennlyside clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Margarita Horns horns
  • Ian Putz baritone saxophone
  • Morgan Rael steel drums
  • Bob Rogers trombone
  • Jim Vallance organ
  • Christine Arnott Gaelic voice-over on The Movie
Track Listing of: Aerosmith Permanent Vacation

The Song/tracks on "Aerosmith Permanent Vacation" are

  • Heart's Done Time (Desmond Child, Perry) 4:42
  • Magic Touch (Perry, Tyler, Jim Vallance) 4:37
  • Rag Doll (Holly Knight, Perry, Tyler, Vallance) 4:25
  • Simoriah (Perry, Tyler, Vallance) 3:22
  • Dude (Looks Like a Lady) (Child, Perry, Tyler) 4:24
  • St. John (Tyler) 4:10
  • Hangman Jury (Perry, Tyler, Vallance) 5:33
  • Girl Keeps Coming Apart (Perry, Tyler) 4:13
  • Angel (Child, Tyler) 5:08
  • Permanent Vacation (Tyler, Whitford) 4:49
  • I'm Down (Lennon/McCartney) 2:20
  • The Movie [instrumental] (Hamilton, Kramer, Perry, Tyler, Whitford) 4:04

Album Photo Gallery of AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


Front Cover Photo Of AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM front cover

 Note: The photos on this page are taken from albums in my personal collection. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Photo Of The Back Cover AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM back cover

First Photo Of Custom Inner Sleeve AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM custom inner sleeve

Close up of Side One record's label AEROSMITH - Permanent Vacation 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

"Permanent Vacation" Record Label Details: Geffen 924 162, WX 126

Close up of "Permanent Vacation" Record Label Details: Geffen 924 162, WX 126

Index of AEROSMITH Vinyl Album Discography and Album Cover Gallery

Aerosmith is an American rock band formed in Boston, Massachusetts in 1970. The band's original lineup consisted of Steven Tyler (vocals), Joe Perry (guitar), Tom Hamilton (bass), Brad Whitford (guitar), and Joey Kramer (drums). They have released 15 studio albums, the most successful of which include "Toys in the Attic" (1975) and "Pump" (1989). Aerosmith is known for their blues-influenced hard rock sound, and they have sold over 150 million records worldwide, making them one of the best-selling music artists of all time. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2001.