UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album

"Space Metal" is a double LP set combining tracks taken from UFO's first three albums UFO, Flying and their Japanese only release UFO Lands in Tokyo--Live. The titles of these are given on the sleeve as being UFO1, Flying and UFO Live.


Photo of Front Cover

Album Description:

UFO's 1976 album "Space Metal" is a double LP that represents the band at the peak of their powers. The album features the classic lineup of Michael Schenker on guitar, Phil Mogg on vocals, Pete Way on bass, and Andy Parker on drums. The album was produced by Ron Nevison, who had previously worked with Led Zeppelin and Bad Company.

"Space Metal" is a classic album that helped to define the sound of heavy metal. It is a must-have for any fan of the genre.

In addition to the music, the album cover is also iconic. It features a painting by Roger Dean, who is best known for his work with Yes. The painting depicts a spaceship flying through a starry night sky. The cover is both visually stunning and evocative of the album's space-themed concept.

"Space Metal" was a commercial success, reaching number 16 on the Billboard 200 chart in the United States. It was also certified Gold by the RIAA. The album's success helped to establish UFO as one of the leading heavy metal bands of the 1970s.

The album has been praised by critics and fans alike. In a review for AllMusic, critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine called the album "a classic of the genre", and "one of the most important heavy metal albums of the 1970s".

Music Genre:

 Hard Rock, Progressive Rock, Heavy Space Metal

Collector's info:

Gatefold (FOC) cover design 

Album Cover Design by Roger Dean

  Roger Dean ( full-name: William Roger Dean ) Roger Dean an English artist and designer who is best known for his work creating album covers for numerous rock bands, including Yes, Uriah Heep, and Asia. He was born on 31 August 1944, in Ashford, Kent, England.

  Dean's distinctive style is characterized by his use of fantastical landscapes, surreal imagery, and vivid colors. His album covers often feature otherworldly creatures, floating islands, and intricate patterns. Dean's work has become synonymous with the progressive rock movement of the 1970s, and his iconic designs have become an integral part of the visual language of rock music.

  In addition to his album cover work, Dean has also designed stage sets, costumes, and logos for numerous bands. He has also created artwork for book covers, calendars, and video games.

  Dean's influence extends beyond the world of music, and his artwork has been exhibited in galleries and museums around the world. In 2018, he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from Arts University Bournemouth in recognition of his contributions to the fields of art and design.


Record Label Information:

 Nova 6.28 363 (628363)Manufactured under License from Beacon Records LTD London, England

Media Format:

 Double 12" Full-Length Vinyl LP 
Album weight: 420 gram  

Year & Country:

 1976 Made in Germany 

Track Listing of: UFO Space Metal Double LP

    Side One:
  1. Loving Cup
  2. Shake it About
  3. Silver Bird
  4. (Come Away) Melinda
  5. Evil
    Side Two:
  1. Flying
    Side Three:
  1. Boogie
  2. Star Storm
    Side Four:
  1. Timothy
  2. C'mon Everybody
  3. Follow You Home
  4. Prince Kajuku



Album Photo Gallery of UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album


Front Cover Photo Of UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album


UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album front cover https://vinyl-records.nl

 Note: The photos on this page are taken from albums in my personal collection. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Photo Of The Back Cover UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album


UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album back cover

Close up of Side One record's label UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album

"Space Metal" Record Label Details: Yellow and Green Colour NOVA 6.28 363-1 © Copyright ℗ Sound Copyright

Close up of Side One record's label UFO - Space Metal - 12" Vinyl Double LP Album

Index of UFO Vinyl Album Discography and Album Cover Gallery

  UFO is a British rock band that formed in London in 1969. The band's classic lineup consists of Phil Mogg (vocals), Michael Schenker (guitar) , Pete Way (bass), Paul Raymond (keyboards, guitar), and Andy Parker (drums). They are considered one of the most influential and important bands in the history of hard rock and heavy metal music.

  UFO's early music was heavily influenced by blues and hard rock, but as the band progressed, they began incorporating elements of progressive rock, funk, and even electronic music into their sound. They released their self-titled debut album in 1970, which was followed by several more albums throughout the 1970s, including "Phenomenon" (1974), "Force It" (1975) and "Lights Out" (1977). These albums featured some of their most popular songs, such as "Rock Bottom," "Doctor Doctor," and "Lights Out."

  In the late 1970s and early 1980s, the band experienced several line-up changes and released several more albums, including "No Place to Run" (1980) and "The Wild, the Willing and the Innocent" (1981). Despite these changes, the band continued to tour and release music throughout the 1980s and 1990s.