High Resolution Photo

Album Description & Collectors information: 

This album "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc" is the seventh album by the Norwegian black metal band Immortal. Musically, it continues the blackened thrash metal style heard the two previous releases At the Heart of Winter and Damned in Black. This was the band's first release on Nuclear Blast Records

Music Genre:

Norwegian Black Metal 

Album Production Information:

The album: "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc" was produced by: Peter Tägtgren

Record Label Information:

Nuclear Blast

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Complete Track-listing of the album "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc"

The detailed tracklist of this record "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. "One by One"
  2. "Sons of Northern Darkness"
  3. "Tyrants"
  4. "Demonium"
  5. "Within the Dark Mind"
  6. "In My Kingdom Cold"
  7. "Antarctica"
  8. "Beyond the North Waves"
High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc"
High Resolution Photo  
Album Back Cover  Photo of "IMMORTAL - Sons Of Northern Darkness Picture Disc"
High Resolution Photo  

 Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Index of IMMORTAL Vinyl Album Discography and Album Cover Gallery

Band Description:

  IMMORTAL is a Norwegian black metal band that formed in 1990 in Bergen. The band consists of vocalist and guitarist Olve Eikemo, better known as "Abbath," drummer Reidar Horghagen, and guitarist, Arve Isdal, better known as "Demonaz." IMMORTAL has released nine studio albums, one EP, and one live album. The band is known for its intense, atmospheric music, and its use of corpse paint and spiked gauntlets during live performances.

  Early Years:

  IMMORTAL's early years were marked by a flurry of activity, with the band releasing three full-length albums in three years. Their debut album, "Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism," was released in 1992 and was well-received by the black metal community. The album showcased the band's signature sound, which was characterized by fast, tremolo-picked guitar riffs, blast beats, and Abbath's raspy, snarling vocals.

  In 1993, IMMORTAL released their second album, "Pure Holocaust." The album was even more intense and chaotic than their debut, with a raw, unpolished production that added to the music's aggressive, abrasive nature. The album is widely regarded as a classic of the black metal genre.

  IMMORTAL's third album, "Battles in the North," was released in 1995. The album featured a more polished production than their previous efforts, but was no less intense. The album showcased the band's ability to create epic, atmospheric black metal, with songs like "Blashyrkh (Mighty Ravendark)" and "Grim and Frostbitten Kingdoms" becoming fan favorites.

  Lineup Changes and Continued Success:

  In 1997, IMMORTAL released their fourth album, "Blizzard Beasts." The album marked a departure from their previous sound, with a more streamlined, thrash-influenced approach. The album received mixed reviews from fans and critics, but still showcased the band's ability to evolve and experiment with their sound.

  In 1999, IMMORTAL released their fifth album, "At the Heart of Winter." The album marked a return to their earlier sound, with a renewed emphasis on atmosphere and epic songwriting. The album was well-received by fans and critics, and is considered by many to be one of the band's best.

  In 2003, IMMORTAL released their sixth album, "Sons of Northern Darkness." The album marked a further evolution of their sound, with a more symphonic approach that incorporated elements of orchestral music. The album was a commercial and critical success, and is widely regarded as one of the best black metal albums of all time.

  Following the release of "Sons of Northern Darkness," IMMORTAL went on hiatus. In 2006, Abbath announced that he was leaving the band due to personal differences with his bandmates. The remaining members continued under the name "IMMORTAL," with Demonaz taking over vocal duties.

  In 2009, IMMORTAL released their seventh album, "All Shall Fall." The album was the first to feature Demonaz on vocals, and showcased a return to the band's classic sound. The album received positive reviews from fans and critics, and demonstrated that IMMORTAL was still a force to be reckoned with in the black metal scene.

  Recent Years and Legacy:

  In 2015, IMMORTAL announced that they were reuniting with Abbath, and that they would be recording a new album. The album, "Northern Chaos Gods," was released in 2018 and marked a return to the band's classic sound. The album received positive reviews and demonstrated that IMMORTAL was still