38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force southern rock 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

"Tour de Force" is the sixth studio album by the southern rock band "38 Special", this album was released in 1984.


Album Front Cover Photo of 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force

Essential Album Information For: 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force

Album Description:

In 1984, the Southern rock band 38 Special released their studio album, "Tour de Force." The album, which was initially released as a 12" LP, was a major success for the band and cemented their place in the Southern rock pantheon.

The album was recorded in Atlanta, Georgia, and produced by Rodney Mills, who had previously worked with bands like Lynyrd Skynyrd and the Allman Brothers. From the opening track, "If I'd Been the One," it was clear that "Tour de Force" was going to be a hard-rocking affair. The track featured the band's signature blend of bluesy guitar riffs, soulful vocals, and catchy hooks.

The album's second track, "Back Where You Belong," was a radio-friendly hit that showcased the band's more pop-oriented side. The song was an instant classic, with its catchy chorus and driving beat. It was the band's highest-charting single to date, reaching number 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

The cover art, which was created by artist Ted Wing, perfectly captures the wild and free spirit of the Southern rock music contained within the album's grooves. The image of the galloping horses, their manes flying in the wind, evokes a sense of untamed energy and freedom that was central to the band's music and ethos.

The album cover also features a bold and striking design, with the band's name and album title rendered in large, bold letters against a black background. The design is simple and powerful, drawing the viewer's attention directly to the image of the wild horses.

Over the years, "Tour de Force" has become a beloved classic of the Southern rock genre. Its hard-driving riffs, catchy hooks, and soulful vocals continue to resonate with fans of all ages. And while the band may have gone through various lineup changes and musical evolutions over the years, "Tour de Force" remains a testament to their enduring legacy as one of the greatest Southern rock bands of all time.

Music Genre:

Southern Rock

Label & Catalognr:

 A&M Records AMLH 64971

Media Format:

Record Format: 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1983 Made in Holland

38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force Production & Recording Information

Album Packaging

This album "38 SPECIAL - Tour de Force" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by and artwork/photos


Rodney Mills - Producer

Don Barnes - Producer

Jeff Carlisi - Producer

Sound & Recording Engineers:

Bob Ludwig - Mastering Engineer at Masterdisk, New York.

  Bob Ludwig Bob Ludwig is an American mastering engineer and record producer. He is widely regarded as one of the best mastering engineers in the music industry, and has worked with a diverse range of artists across various genres, including classical, rock, pop, and jazz.

Ludwig has been active in the music industry since the 1970s and has worked on numerous critically acclaimed and commercially successful albums, including records by Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, and many others. He has also been recognized for his contributions to the industry and has won several Grammy Awards for his work.

Throughout his career, Ludwig has been known for his technical expertise, attention to detail, and his ability to bring out the best in recordings. He has also been a strong advocate for the preservation of audio quality and has worked to promote the use of high-quality analog and digital technologies in the recording and mastering process.

Overall, Bob Ludwig is a highly respected and accomplished mastering engineer who has made a significant impact on the music industry through his work with many of the biggest and most influential artists of our time.

Recording Location:

This album was recorded at: Studio One, Doraville, Georgia

Album Cover Design & Artwork:

Chuck Beeson - Art Direction

Norman Moore - Art Direction


Steve Prezant - Photographer

Harrison Funk - Photographer

  • Don Barnes - vocals, guitar
  • Carol Bristow - background vocals
  • Steve Brookins - drums
  • Jeff Carlisi - guitar, steel guitar
  • Jack Grondin - drums
  • Larry Junstrom - bass guitar
  • Jimmy Markham
  • Lu Moss - background vocals
  • Donnie Van Zant - vocals
  1. "If I'd Been the One" (Barnes, Carlisi, Steele, Van Zant) – 3:55
  2. "Back Where You Belong" (Gary O'Connor) – 4:29
  3. "One Time for Old Times" (O'Connor) – 4:32
  4. "See Me in Your Eyes" (Barnes, Carlisi, Steele) – 3:54
  5. "Twentieth Century Fox" (Barnes, Carlisi, Van Zant, Steele) – 3:45
  6. "Long Distance Affair" (Barnes, Steele, Van Zant) – 3:56
  7. "I Oughta Let Go" (S. Diamond, T.J. Seals, E. Setser) – 3:59
  8. "One of the Lonely Ones" (Barnes, Steele, Van Zant) – 4:01
  9. "Undercover Lover" (Carlisi, Steele, Van Zant) – 4:11

38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force High Resolution & Quality Photos

Front Cover Photo Of 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Front Cover Photo Of 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Photo Of The Back Cover 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Photo of album back cover 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
38 Special Band Photo on the custom inner sleeve 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Photo of album back cover 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Lyrics on the custom inner sleeve 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Photo of album back cover 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force
Close up of the 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force record's label
Close up of the 38 SPECIAL - Tour De Force record's label