MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP Album

- West-German Release

  "ACE OF SPADES" is the 1980 studio album by the British Heavy Metal band Motörhead. It was the first album the band released in the United States. They are also considered one of the first bands part of the NWOBHM ( New Wave Of British Heavy Metal ). This web page has photos of album covers, inner sleeves, record labels together with production details, musicians and track-listing.


Album Front Cover Photo of MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP

"Ace of Spades" Album Description

Motörhead's 1980 album "Ace of Spades" is not just a record; it's a declaration of war. With its title track serving as the ultimate battle cry, this album cemented the band's reputation as the loudest, fastest, and most uncompromising force in rock and roll history.

The album explodes with the title track, "Ace of Spades." Featuring Lemmy Kilmister's raspy snarl over a relentless, pummeling riff, the song is a pure adrenaline shot of rock and roll fury. It's an ode to gambling, risk-taking, and living life full-throttle – a philosophy embodied by Motörhead itself.

But "Ace of Spades" is far more than just its iconic opener. Tracks like "Love Me Like a Reptile" and "Shoot You in the Back" deliver further salvos of blistering speed and swagger. Even slightly slower tunes like "(We Are) The Road Crew" and "The Chase is Better Than the Catch" drip with a gritty, blues-infused attitude that only Motörhead could pull off.

Behind the musical assault lies a surprising tightness and precision. Guitarist 'Fast' Eddie Clarke delivers tight, searing solos and riffs, while drummer Phil 'Philthy Animal' Taylor proves he's not just a human drum machine, but a driving force behind the band's relentless groove. And of course, Lemmy, a battle-scarred road warrior with whiskey-soaked vocals, delivers every line like a punch to the face, his iconic bass less an instrument and more a blunt-force weapon.

"Ace of Spades" wasn't just a musical revolution; it was a cultural one. It transcended its hard rock and heavy metal roots, influencing countless bands across genres like punk and thrash metal. The album's imagery, with its skull-and-crossbones motif and Lemmy's outlaw persona, became synonymous with a defiant spirit that continues to resonate even today.

With "Ace of Spades," Motörhead created a masterpiece of raw, unfiltered rock and roll aggression. It's an album that perfectly balances blistering speed and precision with a good old-fashioned middle finger to the establishment. "Ace of Spades" isn't just an album – it's a manifesto for living life loud, fast, and unapologetically.

Featured Song: "Ace of Spades" Explained

Motörhead's 1980 anthem, "Ace of Spades," is more than a song – it's a sonic brawl. Lemmy Kilmister's trademark growl kicks things off, declaring his allegiance to the "Ace of Spades," a metaphor for living life on the edge. Gambling references weave through the lyrics, reflecting a "damn the consequences" attitude fueled by distorted guitars and Philthy Animal Taylor's relentless drumming.

"Ace of Spades" isn't just about taking risks; it's about embracing them. Fast Eddie Clarke's searing riffs propel the song forward, leaving no room for hesitation. It's a celebration of individuality and an unapologetic middle finger to authority.

Though short, clocking in at under three minutes, "Ace of Spades" leaves a lasting mark. It's a timeless rock anthem that continues to ignite audiences and inspire musicians decades later, solidifying Motörhead's place in rock and roll history.

Motorhead performing Ace of Spades Live:

Essential Album Information For: MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP

Music Genre:

British Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, NWOBHM

Label & Catalognr:

Bronze 202 876 (202876)

Media Format:

Record Format: 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1980 Made in Western Germany

MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP Production & Recording Information


Vic (Chairman) Maile - Producer


Alan Ballard - Photographer

 Alan Ballard a British photographer who did photograph album covers for Motorhead, Girlschool and Tank.)

Musicians on: MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP

Band-members, Musicians:

Lemmy Kilmister - bass, vocals

"Fast" Eddie Clarke - guitar

 ("Fast" Eddie Clarke was a British guitar player and music producer, better known for the period he performed with Motorhead from 1976 until 1982 and as producer of several Tank records.)

Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor - drums

Track-listing of: MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP

Tracklisting Side One:
  1. Ace of Spades
  2. Love Me Like A Reptile
  3. Shoot You In The Back
  4. Live To Win
  5. Fast And Loose
  6. (We Are) The Road Crew
  7. Fire, Fire
  8. Jailbait
  9. Dance
  10. Bite The Bullet
  11. The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
  12. The Hammer

MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP High Resolution & Quality Photos

Front Cover Photo Of MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP
Front Cover Photo Of MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP


Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone )

Close up of Side One MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP record's label
Close up of Side One MOTORHEAD - Ace Of Spades 12" Vinyl LP

BRONZE 202 876 Record Label Details: LC 2313 GEMA ℗ 1980 Bronze Records