ZZ Top - El Loco - blues-rock 12" Vinyl LP Album

  El Loco is the seventh studio album by he American blues rock band ZZ Top, released in 1981 The title means "The Crazy One" in Spanish. Guitarist/singer Billy Gibbons has stated that the recordings of this album was the first time the three members of the band were isolated from one another in the studio, rather than recording simultaneously in the same room. It also foreshadowed ZZ Top's New Wave direction later in the decade, with early experimentations in synthesizer backing on certain tracks.


High Resolution Photos of zz top el loco

Collector Notes:


Music Genre:

American Texas Tex-Mex Blues Hard Rock

Collector's info:

This album includes the original custom brown inner sleeve with album details,
Album Production information: Produced by Bill Ham
Audio Sound Engineers Terry Manning, Bob Ludwig

  Bob Ludwig Bob Ludwig is an American mastering engineer and record producer. He is widely regarded as one of the best mastering engineers in the music industry, and has worked with a diverse range of artists across various genres, including classical, rock, pop, and jazz.

Ludwig has been active in the music industry since the 1970s and has worked on numerous critically acclaimed and commercially successful albums, including records by Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, and many others. He has also been recognized for his contributions to the industry and has won several Grammy Awards for his work.

Throughout his career, Ludwig has been known for his technical expertise, attention to detail, and his ability to bring out the best in recordings. He has also been a strong advocate for the preservation of audio quality and has worked to promote the use of high-quality analog and digital technologies in the recording and mastering process.

Overall, Bob Ludwig is a highly respected and accomplished mastering engineer who has made a significant impact on the music industry through his work with many of the biggest and most influential artists of our time.

Record Label Information:

Warner Bros (WB) Records 56 929 (56929)

Media Format:

12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 210 gram  

Year & Country:

1981 Made in Germany
Album cover photos of : ZZ Top El Loco
Photo of ZZ Top El Loco Album's Front Cover 
High Resolution Photos of zz top el loco    
Close-up Photo of ZZ Top El Loco Record Label 
High Resolution Photos of zz top el loco  
Note: the above pictures are actual photos of the album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.
Band Members and Musicians on: ZZ Top El Loco
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Frank Beard drums
  • Billy Gibbons guitar, lead vocals
  • Dusty Hill bass, vocals
Track Listing of: ZZ Top El Loco

The Song/tracks on "ZZ Top El Loco" are

  • Tube Snake Boogie 3:03 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • I Wanna Drive You Home 4:44 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Ten Foot Pole 4:19 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Leila 3:13 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Don't Tease Me 4:20 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons & Dusty Hill
  • It's So Hard 5:12 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Pearl Necklace 4:02 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Groovy Little Hippie Pad 2:40 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Heaven, Hell or Houston 2:32 - Lead vocals: Billy Gibbons
  • Party on the Patio 2:49 - Lead vocals: Dusty Hill

From Tres Hombres to Eliminator: The Enduring Legacy of ZZ Top's Blues-Rock Boogie

ZZ TOP Band Description:

ZZ Top is a legendary American rock band that has been entertaining audiences for over five decades. The band was formed in Houston, Texas, in 1969 by guitarist and vocalist Billy Gibbons, bassist and vocalist Dusty Hill, and drummer Frank Beard. ZZ Top's music is characterized by its bluesy guitar riffs, catchy melodies, and humorous lyrics.

The band's breakthrough album was "Tres Hombres," released in 1973. The album features some of ZZ Top's most iconic songs, including "La Grange," "Waitin' for the Bus," and "Jesus Just Left Chicago." "Tres Hombres" reached number eight on the Billboard 200 and has since been certified triple platinum. The album's success established ZZ Top as one of the top rock bands of the 1970s.

In the years that followed, ZZ Top continued to release a string of successful albums and hit singles. Their 1983 album "Eliminator" was a commercial and critical success, reaching number nine on the Billboard 200 and spawning several hit singles, including "Gimme All Your Lovin'," "Sharp Dressed Man," and "Legs." The album's music videos, featuring the band's signature beards and hot rods, were also hugely popular on MTV.

Throughout their career, ZZ Top has maintained a consistent sound that blends blues, rock, and boogie-woogie. Billy Gibbons' distinctive guitar style, which often features a mix of distorted and clean tones, has become a hallmark of the band's sound. Dusty Hill's bass playing provides a solid foundation for the music, while Frank Beard's drumming is energetic and precise.

One of the things that sets ZZ Top apart from other rock bands is their sense of humor. Many of their songs feature witty and tongue-in-cheek lyrics, often referencing cars, women, and rock and roll. The band's live shows are also known for their humor, with the members frequently engaging in banter and jokes with the audience.

Another key aspect of ZZ Top's success is their image. The band's signature beards and sunglasses have become iconic, and they have been featured in countless music videos, album covers, and merchandise. The band's image is also closely tied to their love of cars and hot rods, which is reflected in their music and visuals.

ZZ Top's influence on rock music cannot be overstated. The band's sound and style have been emulated by countless artists over the years, and they have inspired generations of musicians. Their music has also been featured in numerous films, television shows, and commercials, further cementing their status as cultural icons.

Despite their many accomplishments, ZZ Top has also faced their share of challenges over the years. In 1977, the band's equipment truck crashed, killing their sound engineer and tour manager. In 1984, Dusty Hill was diagnosed with hepatitis C, which forced the band to cancel several tour dates. In 2000, Frank Beard was diagnosed with cancer, but he was able to recover and continue playing with the band.

Today, ZZ Top remains active, with Billy Gibbons and Frank Beard continuing to perform together. Sadly, Dusty Hill passed away in July 2021, just a few months shy of the band's 50th anniversary. Despite the loss of Hill, ZZ Top's legacy and influence continue to live on.