This album "ERIC CLAPTON - Behind the Sun" is the 1985 album by the English guitarist Eric Clapton. The title of the album comes from a line from Albert King's "Louisiana Blues". It is also Clapton's first collaborative project with Phil Collins. Often referred to as his "comeback album", it was received very well in both the UK and the US. After nearly a decade of Clapton's guitar playing taking a back seat to his singing/songwriting, this album featured some of his best guitar playing since the Cream era of the 1960s.


large album front cover photo of: ERIC CLAPTON  BEHIND THE SUN

Album Description & Collectors information:

Gatefold (FOC) cover design with artwork / photos on the inside cover pages

The single Forever Man features Clapton playing an amazing guitar solo at full force. The album is also dressed up with synthesizers and drum machines played by Phil Collins, Ted Templeman, Peter Robinson, Michael Omartian, James Newton Howard, Chris Stainton and Greg Phillinganes, as well as Clapton's Roland guitar synthesizer on the 9th track, Never Make You Cry. Bassists Donald Duck Dunn from Booker T. & the MG's and Nathan East from the smooth jazz quartet Fourplay also played on the sessions.

Music Genre:

Blues, Rock, Pop 

Album Production Information:


The album: "ERIC CLAPTON - Behind the Sun" was produced by: Eric Clapton, Phil Collins, Ted Templeman, Lenny Waronker

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Nick Launay, Lee Herschberg

This album was recorded at: Air Studios, Montserrat, West Indies, Lion Share Recording Studios, Los Angeles, Amigo Studios, North Hollywood, California

Album cover photography: Patti Clapton

Record Label Information:

Duck Records 925 166

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 280 gram  

Year & Country:

1985 Made in Germany
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: ERIC CLAPTON - Behind the Sun
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Lindsey Buckingham - guitar
  • Phil Collins - synthesizer, percussion, drums, background vocals, Fender Rhodes, Simmons drums
  • James Newton Howard - synthesizer
  • Peter Manning Robinson - synthesizer
  • Marcy Levy - background vocals
  • Jerry Williams - background vocals
  • Lenny Castro - percussion
  • Ray Cooper - percussion

      Ray Cooper (Full-name: Raymond Cooper) an English percussionist and drummer who has worked with a wide range of artists in various genres of music. He is known for his work with Elton John, having played percussion on many of his albums and tours, as well as for his collaborations with other musicians such as George Harrison, Eric Clapton, and The Rolling Stones. Cooper has also released several solo albums and is known for his unique style of percussion, which often incorporates unconventional instruments and sounds.

  • Donald "Duck" Dunn - bass
  • Nathan East - bass, background vocals
  • Lee Herschberg - engineer
  • Nick Launay - engineer
  • Steve Lukather - guitar
  • Shaun Murphy - background vocals
  • Michael Omartian - synthesizer
  • Jamie Oldaker - drums, background vocals
  • Jeff Porcaro - drums
  • Greg Phillinganes - synthesizer, background vocals
  • John "J.R." Robinson - drums
  • Peter Robinson - synthesizer
  • Chris Stainton - synthesizer, piano, Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes
  • Ted Templeman - percussion
Complete Track-listing of the album "ERIC CLAPTON - Behind the Sun"

The detailed tracklist of this record "ERIC CLAPTON - Behind the Sun" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. "She's Waiting" - 4:55 (Clapton, Peter Robinson)
  2. "See What Love Can Do" - 3:58 (Jerry Lynn Williams)
  3. "Same Old Blues" - 8:15 (Clapton)
  4. "Knock on Wood" - 3:19 (Eddie Floyd, Steve Cropper)
  5. "Something's Happening" - 3:23 (Jerry Lynn Williams)
  6. "Forever Man" - 3:13 (Jerry Lynn Williams)
  7. "It All Depends" - 5:05 (Clapton)
  8. "Tangled In Love" - 4:11 (Levy, Richard Feldman)
  9. "Never Make You Cry" - 6:06 (Clapton, Phil Collins)
  10. "Just Like a Prisoner" - 5:29 (Clapton)
  11. "Behind the Sun" - 2:13 (Clapton)

Index of ERIC CLAPTON Vinyl Album Discography and Album Cover Gallery

ERIC CLAPTON Mini-Biography

  Eric Clapton (Full-name: Eric Patrick Clapton ) a British guitarist, singer, and songwriter. He is widely considered one of the greatest guitarists of all time and has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame three times. He first gained fame as a member of the band The Yardbirds, and later as a member of Cream, one of the first supergroups. Clapton has also had a successful solo career and has released numerous hit songs, including "Layla," "Wonderful Tonight," and "Tears in Heaven." He has won 18 Grammy Awards and has been awarded the Order of the British Empire for his services to music.

  Clapton was born in Ripley, Surrey, England, in 1945. He showed an early interest in the guitar and began playing in local bands in his teens. He rose to prominence in the mid-1960s as a member of The Yardbirds, and later as a member of Cream, where he showcased his virtuosic guitar playing and blues-influenced style.

  In the 1970s, Clapton launched a successful solo career, releasing several critically acclaimed albums and hit songs. He collaborated with a wide range of musicians, including George Harrison, Bob Dylan, and B.B. King, and became known for his emotional and soulful playing.

  Throughout his career, Clapton has struggled with personal issues, including addiction, and has been open about his struggles with alcoholism and substance abuse. Despite this, he has continued to tour and perform, and has remained a popular and influential figure in the music world.

  In addition to his musical achievements, Clapton is also known for his philanthropy and activism. He founded the Crossroads Centre in Antigua, a treatment and rehabilitation facility for individuals struggling with substance abuse, and has been involved in numerous charitable causes throughout his career.

  Eric Patrick Clapton was born in Ripley, Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom on 30/3/1945. He is the first child of Edward Walter Fryer 21/03/1920 and Patricia Molly 07/01/1929.

  When he was 40 years old, his father Edward Walter Fryer died (15/05/1985). When he was 54 years old, his mother Patricia Molly died (Mar 1999).

  His partner is Lory Del Santo. His partner is Alice Ormsby-Gore. His partner is Yvonne Kelly. On 27/3/1979, he married Pattie Boyd in Tucson, Pima County, Arizona, United States. On 1/1/2002, he married Melia McEnery. He was 33 years old when he married Pattie Boyd. He was 56 years old when he married Melia McEnery. He got divorced from Pattie Boyd in 1989. He has three children with Melia McEnery: Julie Rose Clapton 13/6/2001, Ella May Clapton 14/3/2003, Sophie Belle Clapton 1/2/2005. He has one son with Lory Del Santo: Conor Clapton 21/08/1986. He has one daughter with Yvonne Kelly: Ruth Kelly Clapton 1985.