Avalon, released in 1982, was Roxy Music's eighth (and, to date, final) studio album. Recorded in 1981-82 at Compass Point Studios in Nassau, Bahamas, it is generally regarded as the culmination of the smoother, more adult-oriented sound of the band's later work. Bryan Ferry's girlfriend (and soon-to-be wife) Lucy Helmore appeared on the cover wearing a medieval helmet and carrying a falcon, evoking King Arthur's last journey to the mysterious land of Avalon and continuing the tradition for Roxy Music albums to feature images of women on the cover artwork (though perhaps less apparently than previous albums). This web page has photos of album covers, inner sleeves, record labels together with production details, musicians and track-listing.


Collectors information & Description:


This album "ROXY MUSIC - Avalon" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by Roxy Music


Music Genre:

80s Pop Rock 

Album Production Information:


The album: "ROXY MUSIC - Avalon" was produced by: Rhett Davies and Roxy Music

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Rhett Davies, Bob Clearmountain

This album was recorded at: Compass Point, Nassau. Power Station, New York

Label Information:

E.G. Records 2311 254

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1982 Made in France

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: ROXY MUSIC - Avalon

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Bryan Ferry - vocals & keyboards
  • Andy Mackay - saxophone
  • Phil Manzanera - guitar
  • Paul Carrack - piano
  • Yannick Etienne - vocals
  • Neil Hubbard - guitar
  • Neil Jason - bass
  • Jimmy Maelen - percussion
  • Rick Marotta - drums
  • Kermit Moore - cello
  • Andy Newmark - drums
  • Alan Spenner - bass
  • Fonzi Thornton - vocals

Complete Track-listing of the album "ROXY MUSIC - Avalon"

The detailed tracklist of this record "ROXY MUSIC - Avalon" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. More Than This 4:30
  2. The Space Between 4:30
  3. Avalon 4:16
  4. India 1:44
  5. While My Heart Is Still Beating (Ferry, Andy Mackay) 3:26
  6. The Main Thing 3:54
  7. Take a Chance With Me (Ferry, Phil Manzanera) 4:42
  8. To Turn You On 4:16
  9. True to Life 4:25
  10. Tara (Ferry, Mackay) 1:43

Index of ROXY MUSIC Vinyl Album Discography and Album Cover Gallery