Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band - Ice Cream For Crow 12" Vinyl LP Album

"Ice Cream for Crow," Captain Beefheart's 1982 swan song, reflects the musical zeitgeist of its time. Produced by the enigmatic Don Van Vliet, this avant-garde masterpiece defies conventions, blending blues, rock, and experimental sounds. Vliet's departure from the industry after this 12" Vinyl LP Album marks the end of a prolific career, leaving behind a legacy of fearless creativity and a symbolic punctuation in the evolution of music.


High Resolution #1 Photo Captain Beefheart His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow

"Ice Cream for Crow" Album Description:

In the world of musical history, 1982 marked the swan song of an iconoclastic artist as Captain Beefheart, alongside his Magic Band, bid farewell to the music industry with the release of the avant-garde masterpiece "Ice Cream for Crow." This 12" Vinyl LP Album, produced by the enigmatic Don Van Vliet, not only encapsulates the unique sonic landscape of the time but also serves as a testament to the prolific career of an artist who dared to defy conventions.

The early '80s were marked by a dynamic cultural shift, with the music industry undergoing a transformation influenced by evolving genres and technological advancements. It was against this backdrop that Captain Beefheart, a moniker for the singular creative force that was Don Van Vliet, delivered his final opus. "Ice Cream for Crow" stands as a sonic journey that pushed boundaries, challenging the status quo of mainstream music.

Don Van Vliet, the mastermind behind Captain Beefheart, had always been a maverick in the music scene. His departure from the industry after "Ice Cream for Crow" further solidified his reputation as an artist unafraid to walk his own path. Vliet's production on the album reflects his artistic autonomy, with an avant-garde fusion of blues, rock, and experimental sounds that defined the Captain Beefheart experience.

Released in 1982, the album was met with both critical acclaim and a sense of melancholy from fans who realized it was a farewell to a musical luminary. The tracks on "Ice Cream for Crow" showcase Vliet's idiosyncratic lyrical style, marked by abstract and surrealistic themes. The title track, along with songs like "Semi-Multicoloured Caucasian" and "The Past Sure is Tense," captures the essence of Vliet's lyrical complexity and the Magic Band's adept musicality.

The production on this 12" Vinyl LP Album goes beyond conventional norms, experimenting with sonic textures and unconventional instruments. Vliet's role as a producer shines through, guiding the band to create a sound that was not only groundbreaking but also a fitting conclusion to a career defined by innovation.

The album's contribution within the context of 1982 extends beyond its musicality. It serves as a symbolic punctuation mark in the timeline of music, signaling the end of an era while leaving behind a legacy of fearless experimentation. Captain Beefheart's "Ice Cream for Crow" is a testament to the artist's ability to evolve with the times while maintaining a distinctive and incomparable sound.

Music Genre:

Progressive Rock, Acid Psych Rock

Album Production Information:

Produced by Don Van Vliet

Record Label Information:

Virgin Records 204 957 (204957)

Album Packaging:

This album includes the original custom inner sleeve with complete lyrics of all songs performed by Capt Beefheart

Media Format:

12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 200 gram  

Year & Country:

1982 Made in Germany
Band Members and Musicians on: Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart) - vocals, harmonica, soprano sax, Chinese gongs, prop horn

    Captain Beefheart (Full-name: Don Van Vliet ) Captain Beefheart was the pseudonym of Don Van Vliet (1941-2010), an American musician, singer, and artist. He was best known as the frontman of the experimental rock group Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band, which he formed in the 1960s. Captain Beefheart's music was characterized by its eclectic and unconventional style, blending elements of blues, avant-garde, and psychedelic rock. He was known for his distinctive and often abstract vocals, as well as his innovative approach to composition and arrangement. Captain Beefheart retired from music in the 1980s to focus on painting and died in 2010 from multiple sclerosis.


    The origin of Captain Beefheart's stage name is uncertain, but there are several theories. According to one story, it was inspired by a passing comment made by a friend about a drawing that Don Van Vliet (Captain Beefheart) had created. The friend reportedly said the drawing looked like a "captain's hat" and the "beef heart" of a steer. Another theory is that the name was a reference to a fictional character created by Van Vliet, who was depicted as a bluesman with a heart made of beef. However, Van Vliet himself was often cryptic and evasive when asked about the origin of his stage name, adding to the mystery surrounding it.

    Don Van Vliet was born in Glendale, Los Angeles, California, United States on 15/01/1941. He was the first child of Glen Alonzo Vliet 27/06/1909 and Willie Sue Warfield 03/09/1913.

    When he was 25 years old, his father Glen Alonzo Vliet died (10/02/1966). When he was 66 years old, his mother Willie Sue Warfield died (20/02/2007).

    On 17/12/2010, he died in Arcata, Humboldt, California, United States when he was 69 years old. In Dec 2010, he was buried in Trinidad Cemetery, Trinidad, Humboldt, California, United States.

  • Jeff Moris Tepper - steel appendage guitar, slide guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Gary Lucas - glass-finger guitar, slide guitar, guitar, National steel duolian
  • Richard Midnight Hatsize Synder - bass guitar, marimba, viola
  • Cliff R. Martinez - drums, shake bouquet, glass washboard, metal drums
  • Eric Drew Feldman - Rhodes piano, synthesized bass
Track Listing of: Ice Cream For Crow

The Song/tracks on "Ice Cream For Crow " are

  • Ice Cream for Crow 4:35
  • The Host the Ghost the Most Holy-O 2:25
  • Semi-Multicoloured Caucasian 4:20
  • Hey Garland, I Dig Your Tweed Coat 3:13
  • Evening Bell 2:00
  • Cardboard Cutout Sundown 2:38
  • The Past Sure Is Tense 3:21
  • Ink Mathematics 1:40
  • The Witch Doctor Life 2:38
  • '81' Poop Hatch 2:39
  • The Thousandth and Tenth Day of the Human Totem Pole 5:43
  • Skeleton Makes Good 2:17
Album cover photos of : Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow
Photo of Ice Cream For Crow Album's Front Cover 
High Resolution #1 Photo Captain Beefheart His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow  
Photo of Ice Cream For Crow Album's Back Cover  
High Resolution #2 Photo Captain Beefheart His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow  
Close-up Photo of Ice Cream For Crow Record Label 
High Resolution #3 Photo Captain Beefheart His Magic Band Ice Cream For Crow  

 Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).