Bad Brains is an American hardcore punk band formed in Washington, D.C., in 1977. They are widely regarded as among the pioneers of hardcore punk, though the band's members objected to this term to describe their music. They are also an adept reggae band, while later recordings featured elements of other genres like funk, heavy metal, hip-hop and soul. Bad Brains are also notable as religious followers of the Rastafari movement.

"The Youth Are Getting Restless" is a live album from hardcore punk and reggae pioneers Bad Brains, recorded live at the Paradiso (Amsterdam) Theater in Amsterdam, Holland, in 1987 by the VPRO. The show was part of the band's I Against I tour. It remains one of the group's best selling albums.  

This web-page has hi-res photos of the album covers, record label and a detailed description.


Large Hires Photo

Album Description & Collectors information:

 Bad Brains' "The Youth Are Getting Restless Live Paradiso" 12" LP Vinyl captures the band's legendary 1987 performance in Amsterdam's Paradiso club. The recording showcases the band's explosive energy and raw power, with frontman H.R.'s vocal acrobatics and the band's tight musicianship on full display. With classic tracks like "Sailin' On" and "Banned in D.C.", this album is a must-have for any fan of punk and hardcore music.

The Paradiso is a music venue and cultural center located in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. It was originally a church built in the 19th century, but was transformed into a music venue in the late 1960s. The Paradiso quickly became a popular destination for counterculture events, with artists such as Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones, and Nirvana performing there.

Music Genre:

  Hardcore Punk Reggae 

Album Production Information:

  The album: "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless" was produced by: Ron St Germain

This album was recorded at: Paradiso, Amsterdam, 28 May 1987, VPRO/NOS Mobile Studio

Record Label Information:

  Caroline Records 1617

Media Format:

  12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

  1990 Made in USA
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • H.R. Throat
  • Dr Know Gits
  • Darryl Bass
  • Earl Hudson Drums
Complete Track-listing of the album "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless"

The detailed tracklist of this record "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless" is:

  1. I - 2:33
  2. Rock for Light - 1:40
  3. Right Brigade - 2:30
  4. House of Suffering - 2:04
  5. Day Tripper/She's a Rainbow (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)/(Mick Jagger/Keith Richards) - 4:53
  6. Coptic Times - 2:10
  7. Sacred Love - 3:27
  8. Re-Ignition - 4:30
  9. Let Me Help - 1:54
  10. The Youth Are Getting Restless - 3:58
  11. Banned in D.C. - 2:14
  12. Sailin' On - 1:52
  13. Fearless Vampire Killers - 1:12
  14. At the Movies - 2:50
  15. Revolution (Dennis Brown) - 4:27
  16. Pay to Cum - 1:41
  17. Big Takeover - 3:26
Album cover photos of : BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless
Album Front Cover Photo of "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless"
Large Hires Photo
Album Back Cover  Photo of "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless"
Large Hires Photo  
Inner Cover   of "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless" Album
Large Hires Photo
Photo of "BAD BRAINS The Youth are Getting Restless" Album's Inner Cover  
Large Hires Photo
Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.