Description: Spirit's self-titled debut album is one whose multifarious experimentalism owes a lot to the contemporary successes of The Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and Pink Floyd's The Piper at the Gates of Dawn. It marked the humble beginnings and grand aspirations of its eponymous authors. The eclecticism of Randy California's writing coupled Barrett's psychotropism with Morrison's West Coast bohemianism; and although the result proved somewhat inaccessible to the mainstream masses (at least commercially), it made the project ripe for underground FM airtime. The band would later curtail its psychedelia, focusing on a broader array of genres. This release was published first by Ode Records in 1968.


Front Cover Photo Of SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album

Music Genre:

Psych Acid Prog Rock 

Album Production Information:


The album: "SPIRIT S/T Self-Titled Ode Records" was produced by: Lou Adler

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Eirik Wangberg, Armin Steiner, Mike Leitz

Album cover design: Corporate Head, Tom Wilkes

Album cover photography: Guy Webster, Jay Thompson

Record Label Information:

ODE Records Z12 44004

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1967 Made in USA
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SPIRIT S/T Self-Titled Ode Records
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Mark Andes – Bass, Vocals
  • Randy California – Bass, Guitar, Vocals
  • Ed Cassidy – Percussion, Drums
  • Jay Ferguson – Percussion, Keyboards, Vocals
  • John Locke – Keyboards
Complete Track-listing of the album "SPIRIT S/T Self-Titled Ode Records"

The detailed tracklist of this record "SPIRIT S/T Self-Titled Ode Records" is:

  1. "Fresh-Garbage" 3:11
  2. "Uncle Jack" 2:44
  3. "Mechanical World" Andes, Ferguson 5:15
  4. "Taurus" California 2:37
  5. "Girl in Your Eye" 3:15
  6. "Straight Arrow" 2:50
  7. "Topanga Windows" 3:36
  8. "Gramophone Man" Andes, California, Cassidy, Ferguson, Locke 3:49
  9. "Water Woman" 2:11
  10. "The Great Canyon Fire in General" 2:46
  11. "Elijah" Locke 10:42

SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album High Resolution & Quality Photos

Front Cover Photo Of SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album
Front Cover Photo Of SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album


Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone )

Photo Of The Back Cover SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album
Photo of album back cover SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album


Close up of record's label SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album Side One:
Close up of record's label SPIRIT - Self-Titled Ode Records 12" LP Vinyl Album Side One

Yellow Colour ODE Records Z12 44004 Record Label Details

SPIRIT Selected Vinyl Records & Album Cover Gallery

Band Information:

The SPIRIT rock group was an American rock band that formed in 1967 in Los Angeles, California. The band was comprised of Jay Ferguson (vocals, keyboards), Randy California (guitar, vocals), Mark Andes (bass), Ed Cassidy (drums), and John Locke (keyboards). The band's unique blend of psychedelic rock, blues, and jazz influences set them apart from their contemporaries and helped them achieve a loyal following.

The band's self-titled debut album, released in 1968, included the hit single "Mechanical World," which reached #31 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The album also featured the classic track "Fresh Garbage," which became a staple of the band's live performances. The band's second album, "The Family That Plays Together," was released later that year and featured the hit single "I Got a Line on You," which peaked at #25 on the Billboard Hot 100.

In 1969, the band released their third album, "Clear," which included the tracks "Dark Eyed Woman" and "1984." The album showcased the band's experimental side and was well-received by critics. That same year, the band also performed at the Woodstock festival, where they delivered a powerful performance that further solidified their reputation as one of the premier live acts of the era.

The band's fourth album, "Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus," was released in 1970 and is considered by many to be their masterpiece. The album featured the hit single "Nature's Way," as well as the tracks "Animal Zoo" and "Mr. Skin." The album's imaginative lyrics and eclectic musical styles helped it achieve critical acclaim and cemented the band's place in rock history.

Despite their success, the band experienced several lineup changes over the years. Locke left the band in 1972, and California departed in 1973 to form his own band, "Spirit of '76." The band continued to release albums throughout the 1970s and early 1980s, but they were unable to replicate the success of their early years.

In 1996, California tragically drowned while saving his son from a rip current in Hawaii. Despite this loss, the band continued to perform and record, with Andes and Cassidy being the only remaining original members. The band released their final album, "California Blues," in 1998 before officially disbanding.

The SPIRIT rock group's legacy continues to live on, with their innovative music inspiring countless artists across multiple genres. The band's unique blend of rock, blues, and jazz influences, along with their poetic lyrics and innovative musical styles, helped them achieve critical acclaim and secure their place in rock history. Their influence can be heard in the music of countless artists, and their enduring legacy serves as a testament to their talent and creativity.