Keith Emerson - With The Nice - prog rock 2LP Vinyl LP ALbum

This double lp set of "Keith Emerson" "With The Nice" is a (resequenced) reissue of Elegy (1970) and Five Bridges (1970) as a double-LP set.


High Resolution #1 Photo KEITH EMERSON With The Nice

Album Description:

Keith Emerson - With The Nice is a double LP album released in 1972, which features live recordings of the progressive rock band The Nice, led by keyboardist Keith Emerson. The album captures the band's raw energy and virtuosity, showcasing their unique blend of classical and rock music. In this web-page, we will explore the historical context of the album, its musical and cultural significance, and the reception it received upon its release.

The Nice was formed in 1967 in London, England, during the height of the psychedelic rock movement. The band consisted of Keith Emerson on keyboards, Lee Jackson on bass and vocals, Brian Davison on drums, and David O'List on guitar. The band's early music was heavily influenced by classical music and featured arrangements of works by composers such as Bach, Tchaikovsky, and Ravel. The Nice quickly gained a reputation for their dynamic live performances, which often included elaborate light shows and theatrics.

By the early 1970s, The Nice had become one of the most popular progressive rock bands in the UK, alongside contemporaries such as Pink Floyd, Yes, and Genesis. However, tensions within the band began to mount, and in 1970, O'List left the group. The remaining members continued as a trio, releasing several albums and touring extensively. The Keith Emerson - With The Nice album was recorded during the band's final tour in 1971, shortly before they disbanded.

The album's significance extends beyond its musical merits. At a time when rock music was often dismissed as lacking artistic value, The Nice were pushing boundaries and challenging conventions. The band's fusion of rock and classical music paved the way for other progressive rock bands to explore new musical territories. Additionally, Emerson's keyboard playing was a major influence on a generation of rock keyboardists, including Rick Wakeman of Yes and Jon Lord of Deep Purple.

Upon its release, Keith Emerson - With The Nice received positive reviews from critics, who praised the band's musicianship and Emerson's keyboard playing. However, the album was not a commercial success, and the band disbanded shortly thereafter. Nevertheless, the album has since gained a cult following and is widely regarded as a classic of the progressive rock genre.

Music Genre:

  Progressive Rock Music

Collector's info:

  Gatefold (FOC) cover design
Red Mercury Labels

Album Production:

  Produced by the NICE

Record Label Information:

  Mercury SRM 2-6500 / SR 61324

Media Format:

  12" Vinyl LP Gramophone

Year & Country:

  1972 Made in USA

Band Members and Musicians on: Keith Emerson With The Nice 2LP
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Keith Emerson - Keyboards

      Keith Emerson (1944-2016) was an English keyboardist and composer best known for his work with the progressive rock band Emerson, Lake & Palmer (ELP). Born in Todmorden, Yorkshire, England, Emerson showed an early aptitude for music, starting piano lessons at the age of eight and later studying classical music and jazz.

    In the 1960s, Emerson became a sought-after session musician in London, playing on recordings by The Nice, P.P. Arnold, and other artists. In 1967, he formed "The Nice"", a pioneering progressive rock group that blended rock, jazz, and classical music. The band released several albums and became known for their dramatic live performances, which often included theatrics like exploding pyrotechnics and Emerson's signature move of stabbing knives into his Hammond organ.

    After The Nice disbanded in 1970, Emerson teamed up with bassist/vocalist Greg Lake and drummer/percussionist Carl Palmer to form Emerson, Lake & Palmer. The band's self-titled debut album was released in 1970 and became a hit, reaching #4 on the UK album charts. ELP went on to release several more albums, including "Tarkus" (1971), "Trilogy" (1972), and "Brain Salad Surgery" (1973), which featured the popular track "Karn Evil 9."


    Emerson's keyboard skills were a defining element of ELP's sound, as he incorporated elements of classical music, jazz, and electronic music into his playing. He was also known for his use of synthesizers, which were still relatively new at the time, and he helped to popularize the instrument in rock music.

    In addition to his work with ELP, Emerson released several solo albums, including "Honky" (1980) and "Changing States" (1995). He also composed music for films and television, including the soundtrack for the 1981 horror film "Inferno."

    Emerson continued to perform and record music throughout his career, and he remained a popular figure in the world of progressive rock. He was known for his virtuosic playing, his showmanship, and his dedication to pushing the boundaries of what was possible with keyboards and synthesizers.

    Sadly, in 2016, Keith Emerson was found dead in his home in Santa Monica, California. He had suffered from depression and physical ailments, and his death was ruled a suicide. His legacy as a pioneering keyboardist and composer in the world of progressive rock continues to be celebrated by fans and fellow musicians alike.

  • Lee Jackson - Bass & Vocals
  • Brian Davison - Drums & Percussion

Track Listing of: Keith Emerson With The Nice 2LP
    Record One:
  • Fantasia - 1St Bridge (Composed & Scored By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 6:08
  • 2Nd Bridge (Composed & Scored By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 3:59
  • Chorale - 3Rd Bridge (Composed & Scored By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 3:30
  • High Level Fugue - 4Th Bridge (Composed & Scored By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 1:02
  • Finale - 5Th Bridge (Composed & Scored By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 3:34
  • Intermezzo Karelia Suite (Jean Sibelius, Arr. By Keith Emerson/Joseph Eger) 9:00
  • Pathetique Symphony No. 6, 3Rd Movement (P.I. Tchaikovsky, Arr. By Keith Emerson/Joseph Eger) 9:27
  • Country Pie/Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 (Bob Dylan/J.S. Bach) 5:40
  • One Of Those People (Music By Keith Emerson/Words By Lee Jackson) 3:08
    Record Two:
  • ng On To A Dream (T. Hardin) 12:43
  • My Back Pages (Bob Dylan) 9:12
  • 3Rd Movement, Pathetique Symphony (P.I. Tchaikovsky, Arr. By The Nice) 7:05
  • America (Leonard Bernstein/Sondheim, Arr. By Keith Emerson/Lee Jackson/Brian Davison) 10:27
Album cover photos of : Keith Emerson With The Nice 2LP
Photo of Front Cover 

High Resolution #1 Photo KEITH EMERSON With The Nice


High Resolution #2 Photo KEITH EMERSON With The Nice

High Resolution #3 Photo KEITH EMERSON With The Nice