Roxy Music - Avalon - German release 1970s art rock 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

Avalon, released in 1982, was Roxy Music's eighth (and, to date, final) studio album. Recorded in 1981-82 at Compass Point Studios in Nassau, Bahamas, it is generally regarded as the culmination of the smoother, more adult-oriented sound of the band's later work. Bryan Ferry's girlfriend (and soon-to-be wife) Lucy Helmore appeared on the cover wearing a medieval helmet and carrying a falcon, evoking King Arthur's last journey to the mysterious land of Avalon and continuing the tradition for Roxy Music albums to feature images of women on the cover artwork (though perhaps less apparently than previous albums). This web page has photos of album covers, inner sleeves, record labels together with production details, musicians and track-listing.

Collector Notes:

This album includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by Roxy Music. 

Music Genre:

70s Art-Rock
Album Production information: The album: "Avalon" was produced by: Rhett Davies and Roxy Music

Record Label Information:

Black color label EG Records Ltd 2311 154 (2311154)

Media Format:

12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 200 gram  

Year & Country:

1982 Made in Germany

Band Members and Musicians on: Roxy Music Avalon

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Bryan Ferry - vocals & keyboards
  • Andy Mackay - saxophone
  • Phil Manzanera - guitar
  • Paul Carrack - piano
  • Yannick Etienne - vocals
  • Neil Hubbard - guitar
  • Neil Jason - bass
  • Jimmy Maelen - percussion
  • Rick Marotta - drums
  • Kermit Moore - cello
  • Andy Newmark - drums
  • Alan Spenner - bass
  • Fonzi Thornton - vocals

Track Listing of: "Avalon"

The Song/tracks on "Avalon" are

  • More Than This 4:30
  • The Space Between 4:30
  • Avalon 4:16
  • India 1:44
  • While My Heart Is Still Beating (Ferry, Andy Mackay) 3:26
  • The Main Thing 3:54
  • Take a Chance With Me (Ferry, Phil Manzanera) 4:42
  • To Turn You On 4:16
  • True to Life 4:25
  • Tara (Ferry, Mackay) 1:43

High Resolution & Quality Photo Gallery of ROXY MUSIC - Avalon ( German Release )

Front Cover Photo Of ROXY MUSIC - Avalon ( German Release )

Front Cover Photo Of ROXY MUSIC - Avalon ( German Release )


Close-up photo of records label ROXY MUSIC - Avalon ( German Release )

Front Cover Photo Of ROXY MUSIC - Avalon ( German Release )


Roxy Music Vinyl LP Albums: A Gallery and Discography of the Art Rock Pioneers' Groundbreaking Music and Fashion Style.

Band Description:

Roxy Music was a British art rock band that was formed in 1970. The band is known for their eclectic music style that blends various genres such as glam rock, art rock, avant-garde, and pop. They are also known for their elaborate stage performances and fashion-forward image.  

The founding members of the band were Bryan Ferry (vocals, keyboards), Brian Eno (synthesizers, tape effects), Andy Mackay (saxophone, oboe), Paul Thompson (drums), and Phil Manzanera (guitar). The band's lineup went through several changes throughout their career, with Ferry being the only consistent member.  

Roxy Music released their self-titled debut album in 1972, which received critical acclaim and established the band as a major force in the British music scene. The album featured the hit single "Virginia Plain," which reached the top 5 in the UK charts. The band's follow-up album, "For Your Pleasure," was released the following year and included the single "Do the Strand," which became a fan favorite.  

In 1973, Brian Eno left the band to pursue a solo career, and Roxy Music continued as a four-piece. Their third album, "Stranded," was released later that year and featured the hit single "Street Life." The album showcased the band's growing sophistication and experimentation with new sounds and arrangements.  

Roxy Music's next album, "Country Life," was released in 1974 and marked a shift towards a more polished sound. The album featured the hit single "The Thrill of It All," and the controversial album cover featuring scantily clad models caused a stir in the media.  

The band's fifth album, "Siren," was released in 1975 and featured the hit single "Love Is the Drug," which reached the top 5 in the UK and US charts. The album also featured collaborations with guest musicians such as John Gustafson on bass and Chris Spedding on guitar.  

Roxy Music's later albums, such as "Manifesto" (1979) and "Avalon" (1982), featured a more streamlined and commercial sound, with a greater emphasis on smooth melodies and polished production. The band officially disbanded in 1983, and Bryan Ferry pursued a successful solo career.  

Roxy Music's influence can be heard in the work of numerous artists, such as David Bowie, Duran Duran, and Depeche Mode. Their innovative music and fashion style helped to define the glam rock and new wave movements of the 1970s and 1980s.