Vanilla Fudge - S/T Self-Titled - 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

Vanilla Fudge (Atco 33-224) is the first and self-titled album by the American psychedelic rock band "Vanilla Fudge". It was released in 1967 and consists entirely of covers of songs, which were slowed down to about half speed of the original recordings by their original artists.


VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM front cover

Album Description:

In the rich tapestry of rock music history, certain albums stand as monuments to artistic exploration and sonic innovation. Vanilla Fudge's self-titled 1968 release, commonly referred to as their debut album, is a shining example of a band pushing the boundaries of rock music. This 12" vinyl LP album, released in Canada on the record label ATCO SD 33-224, is a captivating journey into the realm of psychedelic rock.

Vanilla Fudge emerged during the vibrant era of the late 1960s, known for its experimentation and cultural shifts. Comprising Mark Stein on keyboards and vocals, Vince Martell on guitar, Tim Bogert on bass, and Carmine Appice on drums, Vanilla Fudge took the rock music landscape by storm. The band's distinctive style blended elements of psychedelia, progressive rock, and heavy blues, creating a sound that was both ethereal and powerful.

The self-titled album by Vanilla Fudge offers an immersive listening experience that defies conventional expectations. The band's unique reinterpretations of popular songs are a defining characteristic of their sound. O

The self-titled album showcases the immense talent and technical prowess of Vanilla Fudge. The band's instrumental skills are on full display throughout the record, with intricate solos, intricate time signatures, and mesmerizing improvisations. The standout track, "Ticket to Ride," exemplifies their ability to reimagine songs in unexpected ways. The extended intro, driven by Mark Stein's ethereal organ work, leads into a breathtaking interpretation that veers away from the original, transforming it into a captivating and immersive experience.

Vanilla Fudge's self-titled album represents a significant contribution to the evolution of psychedelic rock. The band's willingness to experiment with song structures, extended improvisations, and unconventional time signatures set them apart from their contemporaries. Tracks like "Bang Bang" and "Take Me for a Little While" showcase the band's ability to create intricate layers of sound, incorporating elements of blues, soul, and psychedelia. Vanilla Fudge's groundbreaking approach laid the foundation for future progressive rock acts and left an indelible mark on the genre.

Despite initially polarizing critics and some listeners, Vanilla Fudge's self-titled album has gained recognition as a groundbreaking work. Its influence can be heard in the music of subsequent generations of artists, including the likes of Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, and King Crimson. The album's innovative sound, experimental approach, and musical prowess continue to inspire and captivate listeners to this day.

Music Genre:  American Psychedelic Acid Rock
Album Production information: Produced by Shadow Morton
Sound and recording engineers: Joe Veneri, Bill Stahl

Record Label Information:

  White ATCO SD 33-224
Media Format: 12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 210 gram  

Year and Country:

  1968 Made in Canada

Band Members and Musicians on: Vanilla Fudge S/T Self-Titled
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Carmine Appice - drums, vocals
  • Tim Bogert - bass, vocals
  • Vince Martell - guitar, vocals
  • Mark Stein - lead vocals, keyboards

Track Listing of: Vanilla Fudge S/T Self-Titled

The Song/tracks on "Vanilla Fudge S/T Self-Titled " are

  • Ticket to Ride (John Lennon-Paul McCartney) 5:40
  • People Get Ready (Curtis Mayfield) 6:30
  • She's Not There (Rod Argent) 4:55
  • Bang Bang (Sonny Bono) 5:20
  • STRA (Illusions of My Childhood Part One) 0:20
  • You Keep Me Hanging On (Brian Holland-Lamont Dozier-Eddie Holland) 7:20
  • Side 1 of the album ends with: "The following is a series of high-frequency tones..."
  • WBER (Illusions of My Childhood Part Two) 0:23
  • Take Me For A Little While (Trade Martin) 3:27
  • RYFI (Illusions of My Childhood Part Three) 0:23
  • Eleanor Rigby (John Lennon-Paul McCartney) 8:24
  • ELDS


Album cover photos of : Vanilla Fudge S/T Self-Titled



Front Cover Photo Of VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM front cover

 Note: The photos on this page are taken from albums in my personal collection. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Photo Of The Back Cover VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM


VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM back cover

Close up of Side One record's label VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

"Vanilla Fudge" White Colour ATCO Record Label Details: ATCO SD 33-224 ℗ 1967 Atlantic Recording Corp Sound Copyright

Close up of Side One record's label VANILLA FUDGE - S/T Self-Titled 12" VINYL LP ALBUM