This album comes with a Merchandising Postcard

  "Dances Of Death" is 1990 released album by the German Speed/Thrash Metal band "Mekong Delta"


High Resolution Photo #1 MEKONG DELTA Dances Of Death

Collectors information / Album Description: 

This album "Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by "Mekong Delta"

Music Genre: German Power Speed Thrash Metal, Progressive Metal

Album  Production information:

The album: "MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)" was produced by: Bjorn Eklund (real name Ralph Hubert)

  Ralph "Ralf" Hubert - Producer, sound engineer, sound mixer and bass player with "Mekong Delta" has produced, engineered and mixed many heavy metal band's album. Some of these bands include: Brainfever, Steeler, Fact, Warlock, Living Death, Atlain, Stormwind, Darxon, Hunter, Lions Breed, Metal Sword, Overdose, Breaker, Mad Butchter, Carrie, Invader, Holy Moses, Siren, Target, Kreator, Sacred Chao. Being a producer and sound engineer he has been responsible (influencer) of the Teutonic Metal sound of the 1980s.

  As a musician" Ralph Hubert" using the alias "Björn Eklund" he played bass with the band "Mekong Delta" since 1985 , other bands he performed with are Schwarzarbeit and X-Mas Project.Ralph Hubert was also co-founder of "Aaarrg Records" in 1986.


Record Label: Blue Label AAARRG ARG 23/034
Record Format: 12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 210 gram  
Year & Country  1990 Made in Germany
Band Members and Musicians on: MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Doug Lee - Vocals
  • Uwe B. (real name: - Uwe Baltrusch) - Guitars
  • Björn Eklund - Bass, Accoustic guitar
  • Gordon Perkins - Drums
Track Listing of: "MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)"

The Songs/tracks on "MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)" are

    Side One:
  1. Dances of Death
    Side Two:
  1. Transgression
  2. True Believers
  3. Night on a Bare Mountain
Album cover photos of : MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)
High Resolution Photo #1 MEKONG DELTA Dances Of Death  
Back Cover  Photo of "MEKONG DELTA Dances of Death (& Other Walking Shadows)" Album

High Resolution Photo #2 MEKONG DELTA Dances Of Death

High Resolution Photo #3 MEKONG DELTA Dances Of Death  

 Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

From the Mekong Delta: A Decade of Technical and Progressive Thrash Metal Mastery in the 1980s

Band Information:

  Mekong Delta is a progressive thrash metal band from Germany that formed in 1985. The band's name comes from the Mekong Delta region in Vietnam, which was the site of many battles during the Vietnam War. Mekong Delta's music is known for its technical complexity, intricate arrangements, and use of classical music elements.

The band's founding members were Rolf Stein, a guitarist who had previously played in a number of local bands, and Jörg Michael, a drummer who had played in the German metal band Grave Digger. The two musicians met through a mutual friend and decided to form a new band together. They were soon joined by bassist Peter Sjöberg and keyboardist Reiner Kelch, and the lineup was completed with the addition of vocalist Wolfgang Borgmann.

Mekong Delta's debut album, "Mekong Delta," was released in 1987. The album was well-received by critics and fans, and it established the band's reputation as a technical and musical powerhouse. The band's second album, "The Music of Erich Zann," was released in 1988, and it featured even more complex and ambitious arrangements.

Over the years, Mekong Delta has undergone a number of lineup changes, with Stein and Kelch being the only constant members. The band has released a total of 14 studio albums, as well as several live albums and compilations. Some of their most notable albums include "Dances of Death (and Other Walking Shadows)" (1990), "Visions Fugitives" (1994), and "In a Mirror Darkly" (2014).

Mekong Delta's music is characterized by its use of classical music elements, such as symphonic arrangements and complex time signatures. The band's compositions are often quite long, with multiple sections and intricate instrumental interplay. The band's lyrics are often philosophical or science-fiction inspired, and they deal with topics such as time, perception, and the human condition.

Despite their technical virtuosity and innovative approach, Mekong Delta has never achieved the same level of commercial success as some of their peers in the metal world. However, they have maintained a dedicated fan base over the years, and their influence can be heard in the work of other progressive metal bands.

MEKONG DELTA - S/T Self-Titled 12" LP
Thumbnail Of  MEKONG DELTA - S/T Self-Titled album front cover

AAARRG 4 , 1987 , Germany

"Mekong Delta" is the first official full-length album by the German Thrash Metal band with the same name.

Show Details
MEKONG DELTA - Music of Erich Zann 12" LP
Thumbnail Of  MEKONG DELTA - Music of Erich Zann album front cover

 AAARRG 11 , 1988 , Germany

"Music of Erich Zann" is the third record released by the German Speed/Trash metal band "Mekong Delta". It was produced by Ralph Hubert, who also plays the bass in the band using the pseudonym: Björn Eklund .

Show Details
MEKONG DELTA - Toccata 12" Maxi-Single
Thumbnail of MEKONG DELTA - Toccata 12" Maxi-Single album cover

AAARRG 17 , 1989 , Germany

"Toccata" is the last record released during the 1980s by the German Speed / Trash Metal band "Mekong Delta".

Show Details
MEKONG DELTA - Dances with the Death 12" LP
Thumbnail of MEKONG DELTA - Dances with the Death

AAARRG ARG 23/034 , 1990 , Germany

"Dances with the Death" is the first record released by "Mekong Delta" during 1990s

Show Details