Camel - a Live Record 2LP 12" vinyl Album

- NOVA Records with Yellow and Green Record Label

Camel is a British progressive rock band formed in 1971. Known for their melodic and intricate compositions, the band blends elements of rock, jazz, and folk to create a unique sound. Led by guitarist Andrew Latimer, their music often features lush instrumentation, complex song structures This web page has photos of album covers, inner sleeves, record labels together with production details, musicians and track-listing.


CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album front cover

Camel's "A Live Record" Blasts Onto German Turntables: A Progressive Rock Odyssey
Album Description:

In 1978, the prog rock titans Camel unleashed "A Live Record" on German audiences via the NOVA Records label. This double LP, adorned with a striking yellow and green label, captured the essence of their mesmerizing live shows, showcasing a band at the peak of their powers.

The late 70s were a transitional time for progressive rock, with the genre's popularity waning as punk and new wave rose. Yet, Camel's "A Live Record" defied the odds, reminding fans of the genre's power and artistry. This album was more than just a collection of live tracks; it was a sonic journey through Camel's expansive musical landscape.

From the opening notes of "Never Let Go" to the epic finale of "Lady Fantasy," the album transports listeners to a world of intricate melodies, complex rhythms, and soaring instrumental solos. Tracks like "Lunar Sea" and "The Great Marsh" showcase the band's instrumental virtuosity, while "The Snow Goose" suite demonstrates their ability to create atmospheric, evocative soundscapes.

The album's production, overseen by the band themselves and David Hitchcock, captures the raw energy and dynamism of their live performances. Bill Price's engineering expertise shines through, ensuring a crisp, clear sound that does justice to the band's intricate arrangements.

Remarkably, "A Live Record" features performances from various venues and years, offering a comprehensive overview of Camel's live repertoire. This diversity showcases the band's evolution over time, from their early prog rock leanings to their later, more experimental sound.

The German release of "A Live Record" on the NOVA label with its distinctive yellow and green label further solidifies Camel's international appeal and their significance in the prog rock pantheon. It's a testament to their enduring legacy and their ability to connect with audiences across borders and cultures.

Music Genre:

 Prog Rock

Album Production Information:

 The album: "A Live Record" was produced by: Camel and Rhett Davies, a Gama Record Ltd Production

Record Label & Catalognr:

Nova Records 6.28 453

Media Format:

12" Vinyl Double Long-Play  Gramophone Record

Album weight: 400 gram

Year & Country:

 1978 Made in Germany
Track Listing of: "A Live Record"

The Songs/tracks on "A Live Record" are

    Side One:
  • Never Let Go (Latimer) - 7:29
  • Song Within a Song (Bardens, Latimer) - 7:09
  • Lunar Sea (Bardens, Latimer) - 9:01
  • Skylines (Bardens, Latimer, Ward) - 5:43
  • Ligging at Louis' (Bardens) - 6:39
  • Lady Fantasy: Encounter/Smiles for You/Lady Fantasy (Bardens, Ferguson, Latimer, Ward) - 14:27
    Side Two:
  • The Great Marsh - 1:45
  • Rhayader - 3:08
  • Rhayader Goes to Town - 5:12
  • Sanctuary - 1:10
  • Fritha - 1:22
  • The Snow Goose - 3:03
  • Friendship - 1:39
  • Migration - 3:52
  • Rhayader Alone - 1:48
  • Flight of the Snow Goose - 2:59
  • Preparation - 4:11
  • Dunkirk - 5:28
  • Epitaph - 2:34
  • Fritha Alone - 1:24
  • La Princesse Perdue - 4:44
  • The Great Marsh - 2:27


Front Cover Photo Of CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album


CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album front cover

 Note: The photos on this page are taken from albums in my personal collection. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Photo Of The Back Cover CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album


CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album back cover

First Photo Of Custom Inner Sleeve CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album


CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album custom inner sleeve

Close up of Side One record's label CAMEL - A Live Record Prog Rock 2LP 12" Vinyl Album

"A Live Record" Yellow and Green Colour NOV Record Label Details: NOVA 6.28 453-1, LC 3311 ℗ 1978 Sound Copyright

"A Live Record" Yellow and Green Colour NOV Record Label Details: NOVA 6.28 453-1, LC 3311 ℗ 1978 Sound Copyright
Index of CAMEL (Rock Band) Featured Album Cover Gallery & 12" Vinyl LP Discography Information
Camel's Prog Rock Evolution: From "A Live Record" to "Nude"
Albums Summary:

In the world of progressive rock, Camel stands as a band that consistently pushed boundaries and challenged expectations. Their 1978 live album, "A Live Record," and their 1981 studio album, "Nude," showcase their musical evolution and their unwavering commitment to artistic integrity.

"A Live Record," released as a double LP, captured the essence of Camel's captivating live performances. Culled from various shows between 1974 and 1977, the album features fan favorites like "Lady Fantasy" and "The Snow Goose," as well as extended improvisations that showcase the band's instrumental prowess. It's a raw and energetic record that perfectly encapsulates the magic of Camel's live shows.

By 1981, the musical landscape had shifted. Progressive rock's dominance was waning, giving way to new wave and synth-pop. Despite these changes, Camel continued to forge their own path, releasing the concept album "Nude." Inspired by the true story of Hiroo Onoda, a Japanese soldier who remained hidden on a remote island for decades after World War II, the album was a departure from their earlier work.

"Nude" showcased a more mature and introspective side of Camel. The music was less about technical virtuosity and more about emotional depth and storytelling. Songs like "Dusted Out" and "Sasquatch" are filled with haunting melodies and evocative lyrics that paint a vivid picture of Onoda's isolation and resilience.

The album was a critical success, praised for its ambitious concept, sophisticated arrangements, and emotional depth. It proved that Camel was more than just a prog rock band; they were master storytellers who could use music to explore complex themes and evoke deep emotions.

The transition from "A Live Record" to "Nude" marks a significant turning point in Camel's career. It showcases their growth as musicians and their willingness to experiment with new sounds and ideas. While "A Live Record" captures the raw energy of their live shows, "Nude" reveals a more mature and introspective side of the band. Both albums stand as testaments to Camel's enduring legacy as one of the most innovative and influential bands in the history of progressive rock.

CAMEL - A Live Record 12" Vinyl LP
CAMEL - A Live Record album front cover vinyl record

Camel's "A Live Record" is a progressive rock masterpiece presented as a 2LP 12" vinyl album. The tracks on this live recording showcase the band's musical prowess and creativity. From the captivating opener "Never Let Go" to the epic "Lady Fantasy", the album takes listeners on a sonic journey.

Learn more
CAMEL - Nude 12" Vinyl LP
CAMEL - Nude album front cover vinyl record

"Nude" tells the compelling true story of Hiroo Onoda, a Japanese soldier stranded on a remote island for decades after World War II, unaware that the conflict had ended. The album's title is a subtle reference to Onoda's surname, hinting at the vulnerability and isolation of his experience.

Learn more