"Rain Dogs" is the 9th album by American singer-songwriter Tom Waits, released in August 1985 on Island Records. A loose concept album about "the urban dispossessed" of New York City, Rain Dogs is generally considered the middle album of a trilogy that includes Swordfishtrombones and Franks Wild Years. The album, which includes appearances by guitarists Keith Richards and Marc Ribot, is noted for its broad spectrum of musical styles and genres, described by Rolling Stone as merging "Kurt Weill, pre-rock integrity from old dirty blues, [and] the elegiac melancholy of New Orleans funeral brass, into a singularly idiosyncratic American style."


large photo of the album front cover

Album Description & Collectors information:

Tom Waits is a legendary American singer-songwriter, musician, and actor known for his distinctive voice and unique style. His 1985 album "Rain Dogs" is considered one of his best works and a masterpiece of experimental music. This 12" LP vinyl album is a collection of songs that blend various genres, including jazz, blues, rock, and folk, and features Waits' signature dark and poetic lyrics.

"Rain Dogs" was released on 30 September 1985, by Island Records, and was Waits' ninth studio album. It was recorded at various studios in New York City and produced by Waits himself, along with engineer Robert Musso. The album features a diverse range of instruments, including brass, strings, percussion, and synthesizers, and includes guest appearances by musicians such as Marc Ribot, Keith Richards, and John Lurie.

"Rain Dogs" is known for its eclectic musical style, which blends elements of various genres, including jazz, blues, rock, and folk. The album's sound is characterized by its use of unconventional instruments and Waits' gravelly voice, which has been compared to that of Louis Armstrong and Howlin' Wolf. The songs on "Rain Dogs" are also notable for their dark and poetic lyrics, which explore themes of urban decay, love, loss, and desperation.

"Rain Dogs" received critical acclaim upon its release and is now considered one of Waits' most influential works. The album was praised for its innovative sound, poetic lyrics, and Waits' unique vocal style. It also performed well commercially, reaching number 29 on the Billboard 200 chart and achieving gold certification in the United States.

"Rain Dogs" has had a significant impact on the music world and has influenced numerous musicians in various genres. The album's innovative sound and poetic lyrics have inspired artists such as Nick Cave, Elvis Costello, and PJ Harvey. "Rain Dogs" has also been recognized as a landmark album in the experimental music movement and is considered a classic of its genre.



This album "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by and artwork/photos


Music Genre:


Album Production Information:

The album: "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" was produced by: Tom Waits

This album was recorded : September 1985, RCA Studios

Album cover photography: Robert Frank

Record Label Information:

  Island 207 085

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record

Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram

Year & Country:

  1985 Made in Germany
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Tom Waits – Vocals
  • Michael Blair - Percussion Parade Drum
  • Stephen Taylor Arvizu Hodges - Drums
  • Larry Taylor - Double Bass
  • Marc Ribot - Guitar, Lead Guitar
  • Chris Spedding - Guitar
  • Hollywood Paul Litteral - Trumpet
  • Tony Garnier - Double Bass
  • Bobby Previte - Percussion , Marimba
  • William Schimmel - Accordion
  • Bob Funk - Trombone
  • Ralph Carney - Baritone Sax
  • Greg Cohen - Double Bass
  • Keith Richards - Guitar , Backing Vocals

      Keith Richards Keith Richards an English guitarist, singer, and songwriter, and the guitarist and co-founder of the Rolling Stones, one of the most influential and successful rock and roll bands in history. Richards was born in Dartford, England, in 1943 and formed the Rolling Stones with Mick Jagger in 1962. He has been a member of the band ever since and has been an integral part of their sound and style.

     Richards is known for his distinctive guitar playing style, which is characterized by its raw, bluesy sound and its ability to create interesting and complex rhythms and patterns. He has been praised for his ability to craft memorable guitar riffs, and for his ability to improvise and add unique elements to the band's music. He is also known for his songwriting contributions to the band, having co-written many of their most popular songs, including "Jumpin' Jack Flash," "Brown Sugar," and "Satisfaction."

     In addition to his work with the Rolling Stones, Richards has also pursued a successful solo career, releasing several critically acclaimed solo albums, including "Talk is Cheap" and "Main Offender." He has also collaborated with a wide range of musicians, including Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, and Johnny Cash. Richards is also known for his wild and rebellious lifestyle, and for his many run-ins with the law. Despite his reputation, he is widely regarded as one of the greatest and most influential guitarists in the history of rock and roll, and continues to tour and perform with the Rolling Stones.

     Keith Richards was born in Dartford, Kent, England, United Kingdom on 18/12/1943. He is the first child of Herbert William Richards 25/01/1915 and Doris Maud Lydia Dupree.

  • Robert Musso - Banjo
  • Arno Hecht - Tenor Sax
Complete Track-listing of the album "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs"

The detailed tracklist of this record "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" is:

  1. "Singapore" 2:46
  2. "Clap Hands" 3:47
  3. "Cemetery Polka" 1:51
  4. "Jockey Full of Bourbon" 2:45
  5. "Tango Till They're Sore" 2:49
  6. "Big Black Mariah" 2:44
  7. "Diamonds & Gold" 2:31
  8. "Hang Down Your Head" Kathleen Brennan, Waits 2:32
  9. "Time" 3:55
  10. Title Length
  11. "Rain Dogs" 2:56
  12. "Midtown" (Instrumental) 1:00
  13. "9th & Hennepin" 1:58
  14. "Gun Street Girl" 4:37
  15. "Union Square" 2:24
  16. "Blind Love" 4:18
  17. "Walking Spanish" 3:05
  18. "Downtown Train" 3:53
  19. "Bride of Rain Dog" (Instrumental) 1:07
  20. "Anywhere I Lay My Head" 2:48
High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs"
High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs"
Album Back Cover  Photo of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs"
Album Back Cover  Photo of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs"  
Inner Sleeve   of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" Album
Inner Sleeve   of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" Album
Close-up Photo of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" Record Label 
Close-up Photo of "TOM WAITS - Rain Dogs" Record Label   

Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.