Description: "It'll End in Tears" is the album released in 1984 by 4AD using the name "This Mortal Coil" as an umbrella title for a loose group of guest musicians and vocalists brought together by label boss Ivo Watts-Russell. This album features many of the artists on the 4AD roster at the time of issue, including "Dead Can Dance"


large album front cover photo of: THIS MORTAL COIL 4AD  IT'LL END IN TEARS 12

Album Description & Collectors information:

This album "THE MORTAL COIL 4AD - It'll end in Tears" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, and artwork/photos

Music Genre:

Alternative Rock, Indie Rock 

Album Production Information:


The album: "THE MORTAL COIL 4AD - It'll end in Tears" was produced by: IVO

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): John Fryer

This album was recorded at: Blackwing Studios, London

Album cover design: 23 Envelope

Record Label Information:

4AD 70291

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

Made in France
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: THE MORTAL COIL 4AD - It'll end in Tears
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Elizabeth Fraser - vocals
  • Robin Guthrie - guitar
  • Simon Raymonde - guitar, bass, synthesizer
  • Lisa Gerrard - vocals
  • Brendan Perry - drums
  • John Fryer - multi-instruments, production
  • Gordon Sharp - vocals
  • Martyn Young - synthesizer, bass, guitar
  • Mark Cox - synthesizer
  • Steven Young - piano
  • Manuela Rickers - guitar
  • Martin McCarrick - cello
  • Gini Ball - violin, viola
  • Ivo Watts-Russell - keyboards, production
Complete Track-listing of the album "THE MORTAL COIL 4AD - It'll end in Tears"

The detailed tracklist of this record "THE MORTAL COIL 4AD - It'll end in Tears" is:

    Track-listing Side One:
  1. "Kangaroo" Alex Chilton Gordon Sharp, Simon Raymonde 3:30
  2. "Song to the Siren" Larry Beckett, Tim Buckley Elizabeth Fraser, Robin Guthrie 3:30
  3. "Holocaust" Alex Chilton Howard Devoto 3:38
  4. "Fyt" Ivo Watts-Russell, John Fryer Instrumental 4:23
  5. "Fond Affections" Rema-Rema Gordon Sharp 3:50
  6. "The Last Ray" Watts-Russell, Robin Guthrie, Simon Raymonde Simon Raymonde 4:08
  7. "Another Day" Roy Harper Elizabeth Fraser 2:54
  8. "Waves Become Wings" Lisa Gerrard Lisa Gerrard 4:25
  9. "Barramundi" Simon Raymonde Simon Raymonde 3:56
  10. "Dreams Made Flesh" Lisa Gerrard Lisa Gerrard 3:48
  11. "Not Me" Colin Newman Robbie Grey, Simon Raymonde 3:44
  12. "A Single Wish" Gordon Sharp, Steven Young, Simon Raymonde Gordon Sharp 2:26