"Blood & Thunder" is a magnum opus that encapsulates The Neon Judgement's avant-garde spirit. Released in 1989, the album continues to resonate with listeners, serving as a timeless testament to the band's ingenuity and artistic vision.


large album front cover photo of: neon judgement

"Blood & Thunder" Album Description:

Belgium, often celebrated for its rich cultural heritage, has also been a breeding ground for innovative musical acts. One such luminary group that emerged from the Belgian new wave scene is The Neon Judgement. With their distinctive sound and avant-garde approach, they left an indelible mark on the music landscape. Among their notable creations, the "Blood & Thunder" 12" LP vinyl album stands out as a testament to their artistic prowess.

Formation and Early Years:

The Neon Judgement was formed in Leuven, Belgium, in 1981, by Dirk Da Davo and TB Frank. The duo quickly gained recognition for their unique fusion of electronic, new wave, and industrial elements. Influenced by the post-punk movement, they set out to carve a niche for themselves in the alternative music scene.

Creation of "Blood & Thunder":

Released in 1989, "Blood & Thunder" is a landmark album that showcases The Neon Judgement at the zenith of their creative energy. The album is a sonic journey, seamlessly blending pulsating electronic beats with gritty guitar riffs and enigmatic vocals. The tracks on the album reflect the socio-political climate of the time, capturing the zeitgeist with their introspective and often cryptic lyrics.

Innovative Soundscapes:

"Blood & Thunder" stands out not only for its lyrical depth but also for its experimental soundscapes. The Neon Judgement pushed the boundaries of conventional music, incorporating unconventional elements that would later influence a myriad of genres. The album is a sonic tapestry, weaving together layers of synthesizers, drum machines, and raw, unbridled emotion.


Music Genre:

  New Wave (Belgium) 
Album Production Information:

The album: "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" was produced by: Jean-Marie Aerts, Luc van Acker


Record Label Information:

 SPV 08-6768  
Packaging: This album "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" includes the original custom inner sleeve with album details, and artwork/photos

Media Format:

 12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year and Country:

 1989 Made in West-Germany  
Complete Track-listing of the album "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder"

The detailed tracklist of this record "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" is:

  1. Facing Pictures
  2. 1313
  3. Damned I Love You
  4. Games Of Love
  5. Don't Wish Me Luck
  6. This City
  7. Ritual Of Earth
  8. Le Suicide Du Beau Serge
High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder"
High Resolution Photo #10 neon judgement blood thunder

 Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Album Back Cover  Photo of "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder"
High Resolution Photo #11 neon judgement blood thunder  
Inner Sleeve   of "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" Album
High Resolution Photo #12 neon judgement blood thunder  
Photo of "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" Album's Inner Sleeve  
High Resolution Photo #13 neon judgement blood thunder  
Close-up Photo of "NEON JUDGEMENT - Blood & Thunder" Record Label 
High Resolution Photo #14 neon judgement blood thunder