MAN - self-titled 12" Vinyl LP Album

- Krautrock Prog Rock Acid/Psych ( Liberty Records )

Man is the third studio album by the Welsh progressive rock band Man and was released March 1971. It was the first album by this line-up, Terry Williams having replaced Jeff Jones on drums, while Martin Ace replaced Ray Williams on bass. Man are a rock band from South Wales whose style is a mixture of West Coast psychedelia, progressive rock, blues and country-rock. Formed in 1968 as a reincarnation of Welsh rock harmony group ''The Bystanders'', Man are renowned for the extended jams in their live performances, and having had numerous line up changes.


Front Cover Photo Of MAN - MAN Liberty Records

"MAN" Album Description:

In the dynamic and experimental world of 1970s rock music, one album stands as a testament to the era's innovative spirit – the self-titled LP "MAN" released by Liberty Records in 1971. Produced by Mel Baister and recorded at the iconic Olympic Studios in Barnes, England, this 12" vinyl LP showcases the distinctive fusion of Krautrock, Prog Rock, and Acid/Psych elements, all meticulously captured by sound engineers George Chkiantz and Rick.

A Journey into Krautrock and Prog Rock

The Context:

The early 1970s were marked by a musical landscape in constant flux. The counter-culture movement had given rise to a wave of experimentation, challenging traditional norms in various art forms, including music. This period witnessed the emergence of Krautrock in Germany and Prog Rock in the United Kingdom, both pushing the boundaries of conventional rock music.

Production and Sound Engineering:

Mel Baister, at the helm of production, played a crucial role in bringing together the diverse talents of the band members. The collaboration with sound engineers George Chkiantz and Rick ensured that the recording process at Olympic Studios captured the essence of MAN's musical exploration.

The Architects of Sound

Musicians and Performers:

1. Martin Ace (Bass Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals): A multi-instrumentalist, Ace's skills contributed to the album's rich sonic palette.

2. Clive John (Organ, Piano, Electric Guitar, Harpsichord, Vocals): John's proficiency across a range of instruments added layers of complexity and texture to the compositions.

3. Michael Jones (Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Vocals): Jones' guitar work, both electric and acoustic, showcased a mastery of tone and melody.

4. Roger Leonard (Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Steel Guitar, Vocals): Leonard's versatility allowed for a diverse array of instrumental interplay within the tracks.

5. Terry Williams (Drums, Percussion): Williams' rhythmic precision, highlighted by the liberty bell on "Daughter," added a distinctive touch to the album's overall soundscape.

Album Highlights The self-titled LP, released in 1971, encapsulates the spirit of the era with tracks like "Daughter," where the liberty bell becomes a symbolic element within the musical narrative. The progressive compositions, often characterized by intricate instrumentation and extended instrumental passages, define MAN's distinctive style.

Music Genre:

Krautrock, Prog Rock, Acid, Folk, Blues-Rock 

Album Production Information:

The album: "MAN - MAN Liberty Records" was produced by: Mel Baister

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): George Chkiantz and Rick

This album was recorded at: Olympic Studios, Barnes

Record Label Information:

Liberty LBG 83464
Album Packaging:Gatefold (FOC) cover design with artwork / photos on the inside cover pages

Media Format:

12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram 

Year & Country:

1971 Made in England
Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: MAN - MAN Liberty Records
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Martin Ace - bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Clive John - organ, piano, electric guitar, harpsichord, vocals
  • Michael Jones - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Roger Leonard - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, steel guitar, vocals
  • Terry Williams - drums, percussion, liberty bell on "Daughter"
Complete Track-listing of the album "MAN - MAN Liberty Records"

The detailed tracklist of this record "MAN - MAN Liberty Records" is:

    Side One:
  1. "Romain" (Martin Ace, Clive John, Michael Jones, Roger Leonard & Terry Williams) - 6:11
  2. "Country Girl" (Ace, Leonard) - 3:08
  3. "Would The Christians Wait Five Minutes? The Lions Are Having A Draw (Ace, Jones) - 12:52
    Side Two:
  1. "Daughter Of The Fireplace" (Leonard) - 5:11
  2. "Alchemist" (Ace, John, Jones, Leonard & Williams) - 20:41

MAN - MAN Liberty Records High Resolution & Quality Photos

Front Cover Photo Of MAN - MAN Liberty Records
Front Cover Photo Of MAN - MAN Liberty Records


Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone )

Photo Of The Back Cover MAN - MAN Liberty Records
Photo of album back cover MAN - MAN Liberty Records


Photo One Of The Inner Gatefold MAN - MAN Liberty Records
Photo of the left page inside cover MAN - MAN Liberty Records


Photo Two Of The Inside Pages MAN - MAN Liberty Records
Photo of the right page inside cover MAN - MAN Liberty Records


Close up of record's label MAN - MAN Liberty Records Side One:
Close up of record's label MAN - MAN Liberty Records Side One