Lisa Dominique - Rock 'n' Roll Lady - 12" Vinyl LP Album

"Lisa Dominique's 'Rock 'n' Roll Lady' 12" Vinyl LP Album, released in 1989, showcases the British Rock singer's dynamic talent. A testament to her prowess, the album is a journey through the rock landscape, highlighting Dominique's powerful vocals and musical versatility. As a key figure in the 1980s rock scene, 'Rock 'n' Roll Lady' stands as a notable entry in Dominique's discography."


LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album front cover

"Rock 'n' Roll Lady" Album Description:

In the vibrant landscape of the late 1980s, amidst the eclectic sounds of various music genres, Lisa Dominique emerged as a notable figure with her album "Rock 'n' Roll Lady." Produced by Lisa Dominique herself, this 12" Vinyl LP not only captured the spirit of the era but also made a lasting contribution to the music scene. In this article, we delve into the contextual significance, the production intricacies, and the overall impact of this iconic release within the time period's context.

Time Period's Context:

The late 1980s were characterized by a dynamic fusion of musical styles, ranging from the synthesized beats of new wave to the raw energy of rock 'n' roll. Lisa Dominique's album found its place in this sonic tapestry, offering a refreshing take on the classic genre. The era was marked by a transition in sound production techniques, with a growing emphasis on experimentation and innovation.

Production and Sound Engineering:

Lisa Dominique took the reins of production for "Rock 'n' Roll Lady," showcasing not only her prowess as a vocalist but also her skills as a creative force behind the scenes. The collaboration with sound engineers Vic Maile, Guy Bidmead, and Mark Parkin added depth and richness to the album's sonic landscape.

Vic Maile, known for his work with iconic bands like Motörhead, brought a gritty and authentic touch to the production. Guy Bidmead, recognized for his contributions to the metal genre, added a polished and dynamic dimension to the sound. Mark Parkin's expertise, honed through his work with various artists, contributed to the album's overall sonic cohesion.

The seamless collaboration between these sound engineers under Lisa Dominique's direction resulted in a production that not only resonated with the rock 'n' roll ethos but also pushed the boundaries of the genre, incorporating elements of blues, soul, and pop.

Visual Aesthetics:

The visual aspect of the album, captured through the lens of photographer Ray Palmer, complemented the music perfectly. The cover art and accompanying images encapsulated the rebellious spirit of rock 'n' roll while also reflecting the stylistic nuances of the late 1980s.

Music Genre:

Hard Rock
Album Production information:

Produced Lisa Dominique

Sound engineers Vic Maile, Guy Bidmead, Mark Parkin

Vic Maile , born on 27 March 1943, was a highly respected British sound engineer and record producer who played a significant role in shaping the sound of rock and roll. With his remarkable talent and passion for music, Maile made a lasting impact on the industry, leaving behind a legacy that continues to resonate with fans and artists alike.


Maile's journey in music began during his formative years, where he developed a deep fascination with sound and its manipulation. As a teenager, he immersed himself in the world of electronics and sound engineering, constantly experimenting with audio equipment and exploring new ways to capture and enhance musical performances.

In the 1960s, Maile emerged as a sought-after sound engineer, working with numerous bands and artists in the thriving British music scene. His technical proficiency and ability to understand the intricacies of sound quickly earned him a reputation for excellence. Artists and producers recognized Maile as someone who could elevate their music to new heights through his expertise in the recording studio.

Throughout his career, Maile had the privilege of collaborating with a diverse range of bands and musicians, each with their unique styles and sonic signatures. Some of the notable names he worked with include:

1. Dr. Feelgood: Maile's partnership with Dr. Feelgood in the mid-1970s proved to be a pivotal moment in both his career and the band's success. He played a vital role in capturing the band's raw, high-energy pub rock sound, contributing to the creation of their influential debut album, "Down by the Jetty" (1975).

2. Motörhead: One of Maile's most iconic collaborations was with the legendary heavy metal band Motörhead. His production work on their seminal albums, such as "Overkill" (1979) and "Ace of Spades" (1980), helped define their distinctive and aggressive sound. Maile's ability to capture the band's raw intensity and sheer power in the studio cemented their status as one of the genre's most influential acts.

3. Girlschool: Maile's partnership with the all-female heavy metal band Girlschool yielded exceptional results. He worked closely with them on albums like "Hit and Run" (1981) and "Screaming Blue Murder" (1982), crafting a sound that balanced their fierce energy with melodic hooks. His production skills showcased the band's musical prowess and contributed to their rise in the male-dominated rock landscape.

4. The Quireboys: Maile collaborated with The Quireboys for their debut album, "A Bit of What You Fancy" (1990). With his guidance, the band achieved a blend of classic rock and roll swagger with a contemporary edge, resulting in a critically acclaimed record that earned them commercial success.

Vic Maile's talent as a sound engineer and record producer extended far beyond these notable collaborations. His contributions to the rock and roll genre are immeasurable, as he worked with a myriad of artists who trusted him to translate their artistic vision into captivating sonic experiences.

Photos Ray Palmer

Record Label Information:

Coast To Coast FM WKFM LP 117

Media Format:

12" LP DMM Direct Metal Mastering 

Year & Country:

1989 Made in West Germany
Band Members and Musicians on: Lisa Dominique Rock 'n' Roll Lady
    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Lisa Dominique

    Lisa Dominique, a British rock singer, emerged as a prominent figure in the 1980s rock scene. Born in the United Kingdom, she gained recognition for her powerful vocals and musical versatility. Dominique released two full-length studio albums during this era, including the notable "Rock 'n' Roll Lady" in 1989 and "Gypsy Rider" in 1991. Her contribution to the rock genre showcased a blend of dynamism and enduring talent, leaving a mark on the musical landscape of her time. Lisa Dominique's presence in the music industry remains a testament to her impact on the British rock scene in the late 20th century.

  • Marino
  • Ian Spicer
  • P.J.
Track Listing of: Lisa Dominique Rock 'n' Roll Lady

The Song/tracks on "Lisa Dominique Rock 'n' Roll Lady" are

  • Rock n' Roll Lady
  • All Fall Down
  • The Gamble
  • Somebody Special
  • Holding On To Your Love
  • Time Bomb
  • Jealous Heart
  • Slow Down
  • One Foot Back In Your Door
  • Trouble


Front Cover Photo Of LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album


LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album front cover

 Note: The photos on this page are taken from albums in my personal collection. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. Images can be zoomed in/out ( eg pinch with your fingers on a tablet or smartphone ).

Photo Of The Back Cover LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album


LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album back cover

Close up of Side One record's label LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album

"Rock &Roll Lady" Record Label Details: Description © Copyright ℗ Sound Copyright

Close up of Side One record's label LISA DOMINIQUE - Rock 'n' Roll Lady 12" Vinyl LP Album