Status Quo - Ain't Complaining - 12" VINYL LP ALBUM

The 1988 release of Status Quo's "Ain't Complaining" marked the band's 20th studio album and showcased their enduring rock sound. Produced by Pip Williams, a renowned British producer known for his work with Quo and other notable artists, the album featured a collection of energetic and catchy tracks that solidified the band's reputation as a leading force in the rock music scene. This web page has photos of album covers, inner sleeves, record labels together with production details, musicians and track-listing.


large album front cover photo of: Status Quo Ain't Complaining

Collector Notes:

This is the original initial releae on Vertigo, this album was re-issued on the Polydor label

This album includes the original custom inner sleeve with album production information  

Music Genre:

British Hard Rock and Roll Boogie Pub Rock 
Album Production information: The album: "Ain't Complaining" was produced by: Pip Williams for Handle Records Ltd

  Pip Williams a British record producer and songwriter, who has worked with a wide range of artists across multiple genres. He is perhaps best known for his work with the British rock band Status Quo, with whom he produced several albums including "In the Army Now" (1986), "Ain't Complaining" (1988), and "Perfect Remedy" (1989). Williams is also known for his collaborations with artists such as "The Moody Blue"s, "The Sweet"", and Kiki Dee, among others. Throughout his career, Williams has been recognized for his ability to create polished and commercially successful recordings, often with a focus on catchy melodies and energetic performances.

Sound engineers: Barry Hammond, Simon Sullivan

Record Label Information:

Vertigo 834 604

Media Format:

12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 190 gram  

Year & Country:

1988 Made in EEC  
Track Listing of: "Ain't Complaining"

The Song/tracks on "Ain't Complaining" are

  • Ain't Complaining (Parfitt/Williams) 4:40
  • Everytime I Think Of You (Edwards/Rich/Paxman) 3:49
  • One For The Money (Parfitt/Williams) 4:52
  • Another Shipwreck (Bown) 3:48
  • Don't Mind If I Do (Rossi/Edwards) 4:41
  • I Know You're Leaving (Van Tijn/Fluitsma) 4:45
  • Cross That Bridge (David) 3:31
  • Cream Of The Crop (Rossi/Frost) 4:03
  • The Loving Game (Parfitt/Edwards/Rich) 4:23
  • Who Gets The Love (Williams/Goodison) 5:33
  • Burning Bridges (Rossi/Bown) 4:19
  • Magic (Rossi/Frost) 3:52

Rockin' All Over the World: Status Quo's Classic Vinyl Discography of Boogie Rock and Pop Sensibilities.

STATUS QUO Band Information:

Status Quo is an English rock band that was formed in 1962 in London. The group consisted of Francis Rossi, Rick Parfitt, Alan Lancaster, and John Coghlan in the original lineup. They became known for their unique blend of boogie rock and catchy pop hooks that resulted in a string of hit singles and albums throughout the 1970s and 1980s.

One of the defining characteristics of Status Quo's music was their use of the electric guitar, which was heavily distorted to produce a raw, powerful sound. Their early hits such as "Pictures of Matchstick Men" and "Ice in the Sun" showcased this distinctive sound and helped establish the band as a force to be reckoned with in the music industry.

However, it was during the 1970s that Status Quo truly cemented their place in rock music history. They released a series of albums that became iconic, including "Piledriver," "Hello!," and "Quo." These albums contained classic tracks such as "Caroline," "Down Down," and "Rockin' All Over the World," which remain popular to this day.

One of the hallmarks of Status Quo's music was their ability to blend traditional blues and rock elements with pop sensibilities. This resulted in songs that were both catchy and musically complex, featuring intricate guitar solos and driving rhythms. Their live shows were equally impressive, with the band renowned for their high-energy performances and elaborate stage setups.

However, Status Quo was not without their controversies. They were often criticized for their perceived lack of musical innovation, with some accusing them of simply churning out the same formulaic rock songs over and over again. Others accused them of selling out to commercial interests, as their music became increasingly polished and radio-friendly over the years.

Despite these criticisms, Status Quo remained one of the most popular and enduring bands in British rock music history. They continued to release albums and tour well into the 21st century, with Rossi and Parfitt remaining at the core of the band until Parfitt's death in 2016. Their influence can be heard in the music of countless other bands and artists, and their legacy as one of the greatest rock bands of all time remains secure.