Collectors information & Description: 

Double LP in gatefold (FOC) cover design with artwork / photos on the inside cover pages

Third is the 1970 double LP by "Soft Machine", with each side of the original vinyl consisting of a single long composition. Its music explores the emerging jazz fusion of the type present on Miles Davis' Bitches Brew, which was released just a few months earlier.

Third marks the most major of Soft Machine's several shifts in musical genre over their career, completing their transition from psychedelic music to jazz, and is a significant milestone of the Canterbury scene, featuring interplay between the band's personnel: Mike Ratledge on keyboards, Robert Wyatt on drums, Hugh Hopper on bass and newest member Elton Dean on saxophone. Lyn Dobson appears on saxophone and flute on "Facelift", recorded while he was a full member of the band (then a quintet), although he is credited as an additional performer. Jimmy Hastings (brother of Pye Hastings from Caravan) makes substantial contributions on flute and clarinet on "Slightly All The Time", free-jazz violinist Rab Spall (then a bandmate of Wyatt's in the part-time ensemble Amazing Band) is heard on the coda to "Moon In June", and Nick Evans (a member of the band during its short-lived septet incarnation) makes a very brief appearance on trombone in "Out-Bloody-Rageous".
Music Genre:  Acid Psych Jazz Prog Rock 
Production information:

The album: "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" was produced by: Soft Machine

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Andy Knight, Bob Woolford

This album was recorded : April–May 1970 at IBC, London ("Facelift" live in Croydon and Birmingham, January 1970; re-issue bonus tracks live at the Royal Albert Hall, London, August 1970)

Album cover design: John Hays

Album cover photography: Jurgen D. Ensthaler

Record Label:  Barclay 920 224
Record Format Double 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 480 gram  
Year & Country  1970 Made in France

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold"

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Album Back Cover  Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold"

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Inner Sleeve   of "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" Album

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" Album's Inner Sleeve  

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" 12" LP Record

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Close-up Photo of "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" Record Label 

High Resolution Photos of soft machine third     

Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Mike Ratledge - Hohner Pianet, Lowrey organ, piano
  • Hugh Hopper - bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt - drums, vocals, plus (uncredited) Hammond Organ, Hohner Pianet, piano, bass
  • Elton Dean - alto saxophone, saxello
  • Lyn Dobson - soprano saxophone, flute
  • Jimmy Hastings - flute, bass clarinet
  • Rab Spall - violin
  • Nick Evans - trombone

Complete Track-listing of the album "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold"

The detailed tracklist of this record "SOFT MACHINE - Third 2LP Gatefold" is:

  1. "Facelift" (Hugh Hopper) - 18:45
  2. "Slightly All the Time" (Mike Ratledge) - 18:12 Including: "Noisette" (Hopper), "Backwards" (Ratledge) and "Noisette Reprise" (Hopper)
  3. "Moon in June" (Robert Wyatt) - 19:08
  4. "Out-Bloody-Rageous" (Ratledge) - 19:10

Canterbury Sound Bands

Soft Machine Vinyl Records