Collectors information & Description: 

This album "Beneath the Remains" is the third studio album and major label debut by Brazilian thrash metal band Sepultura, released on April 7, 1989. It was recorded during the second half of December 1988 at Nas Nuvens Studio in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)

Music Genre:

Thrash Metal 

Album Production Information:


The album: "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains " was produced by: Monte Conner, Scott Burns, Sepultura

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Scott Burns, Antoine Midani.

Mixed by Scott Burns, Tom Morris, Max Cavalera at Morrisound Recording, Tampa, Florida, January 1989

Mastered by Mike Fuller at Fuller Sound, Miami, Florida

  Mike Fuller is founder of the Fullersound Inc , sound studio in Fort Lauderdale, Miami. Mike Fuller has been responsible for the mastering of many heavy metal albums.

This album was recorded at: Nas Nuvens Studio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 15 till 28 December 1988

Front Album cover : "Nightmare in Red" by Michael R. Whelan

  Michael Whelan ss one of the most important contemporary science fiction and fantasy artists, and certainly the most popular. His work was a dominant force in the transition of genre book covers away from the surrealism introduced in the 1950s and 1960s back to realism.

Cover art by Michael Whelan has graced many music record albums including Demolition Hammer's Epidemic of Violence, The Jacksons' Victory; Sepultura's Beneath the Remains, Arise, Chaos A.D. and Roots; Soulfly's Dark Ages; Obituary's Cause of Death; and every album by the Elric-influenced metal band Cirith Ungol. He painted original works for the covers of Meat Loaf's Bat Out of Hell II: Back into Hell and The Very Best of Meat Loaf albums and several of his older paintings illustrate the liner notes of the former. Recently, he painted the cover art for thrash metal band Evile's album Infected Nations.

Album back cover photography: Wesley H. Raffan

Design Deborah Lauren

A concept map will drill-down showing relationships of all people working on this album

  "Morrisound Recording" is a music recording facility located in Temple Terrace, Florida , owned and operated by the three brothers Laurel, Tim and Jim Morris. The facility has been used for recording dozens of heavy metal albums, in particular albums for "Agent Steel" , "Cannibal Corpse", "Death", "Kreator", "Nasty Savage" and "Sepultura".


Label Information:

RoadRacer Records RO 9511 1

Media Format:

12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  

Year & Country:

1989 Made in Holland

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains "

SEPULTURA - Beneath the remains 

Album Back Cover  Photo of "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains "

SEPULTURA - Beneath the remains  

Photo of "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains " 12" LP Record - Side One:

SEPULTURA - Beneath the remains  

Photo of "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains " 12" LP Record - Side Two:

SEPULTURA - Beneath the remains  

Note: The images on this page are photos of the actual album. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash.

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Vocals, Rhythm Guitar – Max Cavalera
  • Drums – Igor Cavalera
  • Lead Guitar – Andreas Kisser
  • Bass – Paulo Jr.
  • Synthesizer – Henrique (Portugal)

Complete Track-listing of the album "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains "

The detailed tracklist of this record "SEPULTURA - Beneath the Remains " is:

    Track-listing Side One:
  1. Beneath The Remains 5:11
  2. Inner Self 5:07
  3. Stronger Than Hate 5:50
  4. Mass Hypnosis 4:22
    Track-listing Side Two:
  1. Sarcastic Existence 4:43
  2. Slaves Of Pain 4:00
  3. Lobotomy 4:55
  4. Hungry 4:28
  5. Primitive Future

SEPULTURA Vinyl Records