High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM"



Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Collectors information & Description: 

This album "SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM" includes the original custom illustrated inner sleeve with album details, complete lyrics of all songs by and artwork/photos

Head On is the second album by British heavy metal band Samson. It was released in 1980. The cover art features the band's masked drummer, Thunderstick. This is the first album with future Iron Maiden-frontman Bruce Dickinson on vocal duties,
The instrumental "Thunderburst" is credited as co-written by S. Harris. The track is in fact a version of "The Ides of March", the opening track on the Iron Maiden album "Killers" which was released the next year.

Music Genre:  New Wave of British Heavy Metal NWOBHM 
Production information:

The album: "SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM" was produced by: SamSon

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Paul "Chat" Watkins, Bob Broglia (

  Bob Broglia a British sound engineer who has (during the 1980s) been responsible for recording the sound of Heavy Metal for bands like: Baron Rojo, Panzer, Samson, White Spirit.

), Craig Miliner

This album was recorded at: Kingsway Recorders, London

Album cover design: Hothouse

Album cover photography: Simon Fowler

  Simon Fowler is a British photographer mainly known for photographing "Iron Maiden". For the album "Piece of Mind" he was called: Simon "Bullseye" Fowler.

Record Label:  GEM GEMLP 108
Record Format 12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country  1980 Made in England

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • "Bruce Bruce" Dickinson – Vocals

      Bruce Dickinson (real-name: Paul Bruce Dickinson") a famous British Rock and Heavy Metal singer, who has been lead vocals in bands like "Iron Maiden", Samson, Speed, Styx and other bands. During his career he has used different aliases like "Bruce Bruce" or "Bruce Dickinson". Here is a summary of his career.

  • Paul Samson – guitar
  • Chris Aylmer – bass guitar
  • Thunderstick – drums

Complete Track-listing of the album "SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM"

The detailed tracklist of this record "SAMSON - Head On original 1980 NWOBHM GEM" is:

    Track-listing :
  1. "Hard Times" 4:42
  2. "Take It Like a Man" 4:09
  3. "Vice Versa" 4:44
  4. "Manwatcher" 3:37
  5. "Too Close to Rock" 3:36
  6. "Thunderburst" 2:06
  7. "Hammerhead" 3:40
  8. "Hunted" 3:00
  9. "Take Me to Your Leader" 3:49
  10. "Walking Out on You" 6:36