"The Dark" is the second full length album released by Metal Church. It was also the last album in which the line-up of Wayne, Vanderhoof, Arrington, Wells and Erickson performed, until 1999's Masterpeace album. This album talks of dark themes, such as assassination, death, struggle, and rituals (for example, the lyrics from "Line of Death" were most likely based on Libyan hostilities in the Gulf of Sidra). One song from this album, "Watch the Children Pray", turned into the band's first music video. This album is one of their most critically and commercially successful albums to date. The album was dedicated to the late Cliff Burton of Metallica fame.


Collector's info: 


This album includes the original 12" insert with lyrics of all songs by "Metal Church" band

Music Genre:  Thrash Death Metal Metal, Hard Rock  
Production information:

The album: "METAL CHURCH - The Dark" was produced by: Mark Dodson

  Mark Dodson is a British record producer and sound engineer, who mostly works with artists in the heavy metal genre. He is best known for producing albums by Anthrax and Suicidal Tendencies, as well as working with dozens of other bands.

Terry Date - Sound Engineer, Producer

Bob Defrin - Art Direction

  Bob Defrin - As director, graphic designer and head of art for Atlantic records, Bob Defrin has been responsible for the album covers of many Heavy Metal bands during the 1980s.

  The list of Hard Rock or Heavy Metal albums he produced between 1980-1990 is here

Don Brautigam - Album artwork

  Don Brautigam , American Painter and graphic artist , he painted over 3000 book and record cover works in a career that spanned 35 years. During the 1980s he painted the albums covers for Heavy Metal bands like: Anthrax , Axe, Metallica , Motley Crue , Vicious Rumors.

Record Label:  Elektra 9604931
Record Format 12" Vinyl LP  Gramophone Record
Album weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country:  1986 Made in USA  

Album cover photos of : Metal Church The Dark

Photo of Metal Church The Dark Album's Front Cover 
One Moment Please, loading: High Resolution Photo of METAL CHURCH THE DARK USA release    
Photo of Metal Church The Dark Album's Back Cover  
One Moment Please, loading: High Resolution Photo of METAL CHURCH THE DARK USA release    
Close-up Photo of Metal Church The Dark Record Label 
One Moment Please, loading: High Resolution Photo of METAL CHURCH THE DARK USA release    
Note: the above pictures are actual photos of the album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Band Members and Musicians on: Metal Church The Dark

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • David Wayne: Vocals
  • Kurdt Vanderhoof: Guitars
  • Kirk Arrington: Drums
  • Craig Wells: Guitars
  • Duke Erickson: Bass

Track Listing of: Metal Church The Dark

The Song/tracks on "Metal Church The Dark " are

  • Ton of Bricks - 3:00
  • Start the Fire - 3:50
  • Method To Your Madness - 4:52
  • Watch The Children Pray - 5:57
  • Over My Dead Body - 03:36
  • The Dark - 4:11
  • Psycho - 3:32
  • Line Of Death - 4:42
  • Burial At Sea - 4:58
  • Western Alliance - 3:18

For Sale   METAL CHURCH S/T Self-Titled Elektra
METAL CHURCH S/T Self-Titled Elektra
Elektra 960471 , 1984 , Germany

On this album "Metal Church" performs a fantastic cover of the song "Highway Star" (Deep Purple)

Buy Now 21.99€


Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | | Copyright ©2019 Vinyl Records Collectors Gallery