Heavy Metal on Vinyl Online Shop

Search this site:



Matrix / Stamper codes / Runout (A Side): RO 9504-A LIC3 571857

Matrix / Stamper codes / Runout (B Side): RO 9504-B LIC3 871087

Collectors information & Description: 

This album "DEFIANCE - Product of Society" is the debut album by the American thrash metal band Defiance. It was released in 1989 on Roadracer Records. It was the only album by Defiance to feature Ken Elkington on vocals and had cover art by Ed Repka.


DEFIANCE - Product of Society album cover photo
Great Vinyl on https://vinyl-records.nl/ this is album cover photo of DEFIANCE - Product of Society
Music Genre:  Thrash Metal 
Production information:

The album: "DEFIANCE - Product of Society" was produced by: Jeff Waters, and Monte Connor

Jeff Waters has been guitarist with the Canadian Heavy Metal band Annihilator since 1984. He has been guest-guitarist in numerous recordings by other bands, as well as producer of many bands.

Monte Conner is a former Senior Vice President of A&R for Roadrunner Records. He started at Roadrunner in December 1987. He has worked with numerous bands including, Slipknot, Trivium and King Diamond.

The bands he has signed, in alphabetical order, are: Amen, Annihilator, Artillery, Atrocity, Atrophy, Believer, Biohazard, Both Worlds, Brujeria, Buzzov-en, Jerry Cantrell, Keith Caputo, Cavalera Conspiracy, Chimaira, CKY, Coal Chamber, Cynic, Dååth, Death, Deicide, Defiance, DevilDriver, Dirty Americans, Disincarnate, Dommin, Downthesun, Earth Crisis, Exhorder, Fear Factory, Floodgate, Glassjaw, Gojira, Gorguts, Gruntruck, Heathen, Immolation, Kinetic Dissent, Last Crack, Leadfoot, Life Of Agony, Machine Head, Malevolent Creation, Murderdolls, Nailbomb, Obituary, Optimum Wound Profile, Pestilence, Porcupine Tree, Powersurge, Realm, Revoker, Rush, Sadus, Sanctity, Sepultura, Shank 456, Skin Chamber, Slipknot, Solitude Aeturnus, Sorrow, Soulfly, Spineshank, Star Star, Stone Sour, Storm Corrosion, Suffocation, Taking Dawn, 36 Crazyfists, Times of Grace, To My Surprise, Toyshop, Treponem Pal, Trivium, Type O Negative, Wednesday 13, Willard, The Workhorse Movement

Sound/Recording Engineer(s): Paul Blake, Frank D'Onofrio

This album was recorded at: Flasco Bros Studios, New Westminster, Canada, September - October 1988

Tom Coyne - Mastering Engineer

Tom Coyne is a mastering engineer from New Jersey who has mastered dozens of Heavy Metal albums during the 1980s.

Album cover Illustration: Ed Repka

Edward J. Repka aka Ed Repka - a very successful album cover artist who has drawn album covers for dozens of Heavy Metal bans most notable for bands like: Death, Defiance, Megadeth, "Suicide Angels" and many others.

Album cover photography: Dee Lippingwell

Record Label:  Roadracer RO 9504
Record Format 12" LP Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country  1988 Made in Holland

High Quality Photo of Album Front Cover  "DEFIANCE - Product of Society"

Album Front cover Photo of DEFIANCE - Product of Society https://vinyl-records.nl/ 

Album Back Cover  Photo of "DEFIANCE - Product of Society"

Album Back Cover Photo DEFIANCE - Product of Society Vinyl Record Store https://vinyl-records.nl//  

Photo of "DEFIANCE - Product of Society" 12" LP Record - Side One:

Photo of 12" LP Record Side One DEFIANCE - Product of Society  Vinyl Record Store https://vinyl-records.nl//  

Photo of "DEFIANCE - Product of Society" 12" LP Record - Side Two:


Photo of 12" LP Record Side Two DEFIANCE - Product of Society  Vinyl Record Store https://vinyl-records.nl//


Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: DEFIANCE - Product of Society

    Band-members, Musicians and Performers
  • Ken Elkington - Lead vocals
  • Doug Harrington - Lead/Rhythm guitars
  • Jim Adams - Lead/Rhythm guitars
  • Mike Kaufmann - Bass
  • Matt Vander Ende - drums

Complete Track-listing of the album "DEFIANCE - Product of Society"

The detailed tracklist of this record "DEFIANCE - Product of Society" is:

    Track-listing Side :
  1. "The Fault" - 3:09
  2. "Death Machine" - 3:54
  3. "Product of Society" - 3:27
  4. "Forgotten" - 3:43
  5. "Lock Jaw" - 3:40
  6. "Insomnia" - 3:55
  7. "Deadly Intentions" - 2:53
  8. "Aftermath" - 1:27
  9. "Tribulation" - 5:04
  10. "Hypothermia" - 5:18

Album's Condition and Grading Details

Strict grading according to the Goldmine Grading for Vinyl records has been applied, this record has been carefully visually inspected to determine the grading.


NEAR MINT or NM, M- : this record appears virtually flawless A very minor scuff and very little else can appear on the vinyl

Album Cover:

EXCELLENT or EX or VG++ : Artwork is still as close to perfect as can be. Light impression to the cover (minor outer ring wear) but no ink wear!



Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | | Copyright ©2003-2018 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide
Search this site:

Last Modified: 25-Oct-2018 15:58