Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Search this site:


Collectors information & Description: 

The Catherine Wheel is David Byrne's musical sore commissioned by Twyla Tharp for her dance project. The Catherine Wheel premiered September 22, 1981 at the Winter Garden Theatre in New York City.

The tracks "Big Blue Plymouth", "My Big Hands", "Big Business", and "What a Day That Was", were performed live by Talking Heads in 1982 and 1983; the latter two appear in their Stop Making Sense film, and "What a Day That Was" appears on the album.

Music Genre:  80s New Wave, Prog Rock 
Production information:
The album: "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel" was produced by: David Byrne and Twyla Harp Foundation
Record Label:  SIRE Records SIR 56 979  
Record Format 12" Vinyl Stereo Gramophone Record
Total Album (Cover+Record) weight: 230 gram  
Year & Country  1981 Made in Germany  

Album cover photos of : DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel

High Quality Album Front Cover Photo of "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel"
Album Back Cover  Photo of "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel"
Inner Sleeve   of "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel" Album
Close-up Photo of "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel" Record Label 
Note: the above pictures are photos of the actual album and allow you to judge the quality of cover. Slight differences in color may exist due to the use of the camera's flash. The quality of these images has been reduced in order to preserve network bandwidth, high quality images of these scans can be made available on request

Personnel/Band Members and Musicians on: DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel

    His Wife Refused
  • Adrian Belew - steel drum guitar
  • David Byrne - vocals, bass, guitars
  • John Chernoff - gung gong
  • Yogi Horton - drums
  • Bernie Worrell - mini Moog, piano
    Two Soldiers
  • Adrian Belew - guitars
  • David Byrne - basses, guitar, OBX, primetime
  • John Chernoff - congas
  • Brian Eno - bass, piano
  • Yogi Horton - drums
    The Red House
  • David Byrne - basses, guitars, prophet
  • Brian Eno - prophet scream
  • Yogi Horton - drums
    My Big Hands
  • David Byrne - vocals, bass, guitars, percussion, prophet
  • Yogi Horton - drums
    Big Business
  • David Byrne - vocals, bass, fierce and high guitars
  • John Chernoff - galloping guitar
  • Bernie Worrell - clavinet
    Eggs in a Briar Patch
  • Adrian Belew - floating guitars
  • David Byrne - guitars, horses
  • John Chernoff - gung gong
  • Brian Eno - bass, vibes
  • Jerry Harrison - clavinet
  • Yogi Horton - drums
  • David Byrne - vocals, bass, guitars, mini synthesizer, prophet strings
  • Dolette McDonald - vocals
    Cloud Chamber
  • David Byrne - kitchen metals
  • Jerry Harrison - large drum
  • Twyla Tharp - water pot
    What a Day That Was
  • David Byrne - vocals, bass, guitars, synthesizers
  • John Cooksey - drums
  • Steve Scales - congas
    Big Blue Plymouth
  • David Byrne - vocals, guitars
  • Sue Halloran - vocals
  • Yogi Horton - concert toms, drums
    Light Bath
  • David Byrne - triggered flutes
  • John Chernoff - percussion

Complete Track-listing of the album "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel"

The detailed tracklist of this record "DAVID BYRNE The Catherine Wheel" is:

    Side one
  • His Wife Refused - 4:26
  • Two Soldiers (Byrne, Brian Eno) - 4:45
  • The Red House - 3:17
  • My Big Hands (Fall Through the Cracks) - 2:45
  • Big Business (Byrne, John Chernoff) - 5:16
    Side two
  • Eggs in a Briar Patch - 3:31
  • Poison - 2:38
  • Cloud Chamber - 2:42
  • What a Day That Was - 5:32
  • Big Blue Plymouth (Eyes Wide Open) - 4:45
  • Light Bath - 1:08
Home | Help / Shipping Info | Contact | Vinyl Records BLOG | Copyright ©2003-2018 Vinyl Records Collectors Guide

Last Modified: 14-Oct-2018 11:07