The album "1962–1966 (widely known as "The Red Album") " was compiled by Beatles manager Allen Klein, with his selections approved by the Beatles themselves. Even though the group had had success with cover versions of songs, most notably with "Twist and Shout", which made #2 on the Billboard charts, only songs composed by the Beatles themselves were included.

It is recognised as the first Beatles compilation since their break-up on 10 April 1970. Both it and 1967–1970 were produced by Apple/EMI at least partially in response to a bootleg compilation titled Alpha Omega, which had been sold on television the previous year. Print advertising for the two records made a point of declaring them "the only authorized collection of the Beatles."

BEATLES 1962-1966 Rare RED Apple Label
Genre:  Pop, Beat
Album:  Gatefold (FOC) cover design
Label:  EMI-Electrola Apple 1C 172-02 307 (1C 17202307)
Format 12" 2LP 
Country  Made in Germany
Vinyl Value Appraisal: The album "1962-1966" has been selling extremely well and while it is a must for every Beatles' collector, this album is not hard to find and thus not have a great value. You can expect up to 10-15$ for an album in absolute MINT condition

Track Listing of: BEATLES 1962-1966 Rare RED Apple Label

  1. Love Me Do
  2. Please Please Me
  3. From Me To You
  4. She Loves You
  5. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  6. All My Loving
  7. Can't Buy Me Love
  8. A Hard Day's Night
  9. And I Love Her
  10. Eight Days A Week
  11. I Feel Fine
  12. Ticket To Ride
  13. Yesterday
  14. Help!
  15. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
  16. We Can Work It Out
  17. Day Tripper
  18. Drive My Car
  19. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
  20. Nowhere Man
  21. Michelle
  22. In My Life
  23. Girl
  24. Paperback Writer
  25. Eleanor Rigby
  26. Yellow Submarine


Beatles Vinyl LP Discography

John Lennon LP Discography